Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results For Saharanpur, Uttar Pradesh: Haji Fazlur Rehman Of BSP Wins Imran Masood Of Congress Against

Written By Daamini Sharma | Mumbai | Published:

Western Uttar Pradesh's Saharanpur constituency saw a high-voltage battle as 14 candidates vied for the seat. However, Raghav Lakhanpal of BJP, Imran Masood of Congress and Haji Fazlur Rehman of BSP were the key candidates in the constituency.


Haji Fazlur Rehman of BSP wins with 513268 votes.

Campaign and Controversy:

Five years earlier, the strategically significant constituency was witness to an infamous attack by Congress candidate Imran Masood who said he’d ‘Chop Narendra Modi into pieces (boti boti)’, which later backfired as he was arrested and ended up losing the election.

In the lead up to the 2019 elections, Prime Minister Narendra Modi raised the remark while attacking the Congress at a poll rally.

"This was where that man said he will chop me into pieces. He is a favourite of the Congress prince," PM Modi had said, being entirely correct in his assessment with the Congress General Secretary for Uttar Pradesh East, Priyanka Vadra, hailing Masood and addressing him in first-name terms in numerous media interactions.

2014 Lok Sabha Elections:  

In 2014, Raghav Lakhanpal had defeated Imran Masood by 65,000 votes. BJP had 39% vote share, followed by Congress with 34%, Bahujan Samaj Party with 19% and the Samajwadi Party with 4%.