Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

"Prayed For India’s Peace And Prosperity", Says PM Modi On Performing Ganga Aarti At Dashashwamedh Ghat In Varanasi Ahead Of Filing His Nomination

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Published:


  • Ahead of filing his nomination papers for the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat, PM Modi performed Ganga Aarti at Dashashwamedh Ghat along with BJP chief Amit Shah in Varanasi on Thursday
  • He said that he prayed for the peace and prosperity of the nation

Ahead of filing his nomination papers from the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat  for the Lok Sabha elections 2019, Prime Minister Narendra Modi performed Ganga Aarti at Dashashwamedh Ghat in Varanasi. He was accompanied by UP CM Yogi Adityanath, BJP President Amit Shah and UP BJP chief Mahendra Nath Pandey. A 7-km mega roadshow that received massive turnout preceded the Ganga Aarti.

Taking to Instagram to post visuals of the magnificent Ganga Aarti, PM Modi wrote:

"On the banks of the Ganga, prayed for India’s peace and prosperity," Prime minister wrote.

In the mesmerizing visuals of the aarti, PM Modi was seen seated on the stage along with party chief Amit Shah and fellow BJP leaders while the rituals of the Ganga Aarti were in progress. The entire area was decorated with flowers and lights, while the holy chants filled up the air. 

BJP chief also posted about the Aarti on Instagram:


Ganga Arti at Dashashwamedh Ghat, Varanasi. Har Har Gange🙏

A post shared by Amit Shah (@amitshahofficial) on

In a major show of strength, NDA leaders all around the country will join the Prime Minister as he files his nomination. On Tuesday, while addressing a press Conference in Varanasi, BJP chief Amit Shah shared the names of the dignitaries who will be a part of PM Modi's nomination process.

"In the nomination process, BJP's senior leaders, parliamentary board leaders and many leaders of the NDA will be present like Ram Vilas Paswan, Nitish Kumar,  Shiromani Akali Dal's Sukhbir Singh Badal, AIADMK leaders, Asom Gana Parishad leaders, Shiv Sena supremo Uddhav Thackrey among a few," he said.

READ: "Kashi Is Already Won", Says PM Modi In Address To BJP Cadre Ahead Of Filing His Nomination From Varanasi For Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Ending all speculations around the name of Priyanka Gandhi Vadra contesting against the PM, the Congress party fielded Ajay Rai against the PM. In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, PM Narendra Modi had won the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat, defeating Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal by a massive margin of 3.37 lakh votes. 

With Uttar Pradesh going to polls in all seven phases, Varanasi will vote in the last phase of the Lok Sabha election on May 19. Counting of votes will take place on May 23.