Updated June 2nd, 2024 at 22:10 IST

BJP Retains Arunachal Pradesh For Third Time in a Row, SKM Clean Sweeps Sikkim

Assembly Elections 2024 latest updates: Stay tuned with Republic for all the latest updates related to the counting in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim.

Reported by: Digital Desk
Celebrations Begin as BJP Retains Arunachal, SKM Clean Sweeps Sikkim | Image:Republic

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party on Sunday returned to power in Arunachal Pradesh for the third time in a row, as the party won 46 seats in the 60-member assembly and secured a majority. Meanwhile in Sikkim, ruling Sikkim Kranti Morcha (SKM) registered a historic victory by winning 31 out of 32 seats. 

Counting began for the 32-member Sikkim Assembly and the 50 seats of the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh Assembly on Sunday, June 2, with a massive security cover in place. In Arunachal, despite heavy rain across the state, counting commenced at 6 am in 24 district headquarters. The assembly and Lok Sabha elections were held simultaneously in Arunachal Pradesh in the first phase of general polls on April 19. As per Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Pawan Kumar Sain, final results are expected by noon today. Meanwhile, in Sikkim, counting began at one location in each of the state’s six districts. 


Here are the latest updates on assembly Elections 2024: 

  • Final Position in Arunachal Pradesh - BJP returns to power in Arunachal Pradesh, secures 46 seats in 60-member assembly. 
    BJP 46
    NPP 5
    NCP 3
    Independent 3
    PPA 2
    INC 1
  • Final Position in Sikkim- Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) wins 31 Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) wins 1.



  • Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) led by CM Prem Singh Tamang, retains power in the Sikkim Assembly Elections as it crosses the majority mark of 17 out of 32 Assembly seats. The party won 18 seats and is leading on 13 seats. The counting of votes is underway.
  • The BJP has won the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly elections as it gets its mark of majority, 31 out of 60 setas. The counting is however underway. 
  • Former Chief Minister and SDF supremo Pawan Kumar Chamling lost to SKM nominee Bhoj Raj Rai in Poklok assembly seat by 3,063 votes in Sikkim, PTI reported citing an official.
  • Celebrations have begun at the BJP's office in Arunachal Pradesh's Itanagar. Firecrackers are being burst by BJP workers outside the party office in Itanagar as the party is set to return to power in Arunachal Pradesh. The ruling BJP crossed the halfway mark; won 15 seats leading on 31. National People's Party is leading on 6 seats. The majority mark in the State Assembly is 31 out of 60 Assembly seats.


  • Deputy Andhra CM Chowna Mein congratulated Hamjong Tangha on his victory from 52-Changlang South (ST) AC. In his tweet on X, Chowna said, “Extending my heartfelt congratulations to Shri Hamjong Tangha ji on your decisive victory in the State Assembly Election 2024 from 52-Changlang South (ST) AC. Your dedication and vision under the BJP government herald new development and prosperity for the people.”
  • Pintso Namgyal Lepcha Wins Djongu Assembly Constituency: Pintso Namgyal Lepcha from the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) wins from the Djongu Assembly constituency. Talking to media he said, "I thank all the voters who supported me and made me win with a huge margin. I also thank my party president who gave me the ticket..."


  • Sikkim CM Prem Singh in Lead: As SKM crossed the halfway mark in the Sikkim Assembly elections, Sikkim CM and Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) chief Prem Singh Tamang, who is contesting the Assembly elections from Rhenock and Soreng-Chakung seats, is leading on both the seats.
  • The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in Arunachal Pradesh in 33 seats with the National People's Party (NPEP) ahead in six constituencies, according to initial trends available on the Election Commission of India (ECI) website.
  • As per the latest ECI numbers, the ruling BJP in Arunachal Pradesh is leading in 30 assembly seats while the National People's Party (NPEP) is ahead in eight constituencies.
  • BJP Crosses Halfway Mark in Arunachal: The ruling BJP crossed the halfway mark; and won 10 seats leading on 27. Meanwhile, the National People's Party is leading on 8 seats, Nationalist Congress Party on 3 seats. The majority mark in the State Assembly is 31 out of 60 Assembly seats.
  • Yoksom-Tashiding assembly constituency registered the highest voter turnout at 85.37 per cent, while Gangtok (BL) assembly constituency witnessed the lowest turnout at 63.66 per cent.
  • The Sikkim Assembly elections recorded a voter turnout of 79.77 per cent while the polling figure for the lone Lok Sabha seat in the Himalayan state was 80.03.
  • The BJP in Arunachal Pradesh is leading on 13 seats. The National People's Party is leading on 2 seats, and the People's Party of Arunachal on 2 seats. The majority mark in the State Assembly is 31 out of 60 Assembly seats.  
  • The BJP has already won 10 seats unopposed in Arunachal Pradesh Assembly elections. The 10 seats won by BJP include Lumla, Kalaktang, Koloriang, Nacho, Likabali, Basa, Along (West) and Along (East). 
  • Sikkim's  SP Mangan Sonam D Bhutia said, "The counting of votes for Assembly seats began at 6 am. As per our inputs, there will be no violence. Forces have been deployed in vulnerable areas. The situation is under control."
  • SKM Crosses Majority Mark: In a significant mark, the SKM has now crossed the majority mark with leading on 24 seats. The majority mark in the Sikkim Assembly is 17 out of 32 seats. 
  • The Bharatiya Janata Party is leading in Arunachal claiming 10 seats.
  • As per ECI's website, Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) is leading with 13 seats in Sikkim. 



Published June 2nd, 2024 at 08:04 IST