Updated June 4th, 2024 at 19:06 IST

BREAKING: BJP's Ravi Kishan Defeats Kajal Nishad in Gorakhpur, Yogi's Stronghold

Gorakhpur Lok Sabha Election Result Live: Republic World brings to you the latest updates from the Gorakhpur seat where the counting of votes will be held.

Reported by: Apoorva Shukla
Check for latest updates regarding counting on Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat | Image: Republic

Gorakhpur Lok Sabha Election Result 2024 LIVE: As counting began for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections on Tuesday, June 4, all eyes were on Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath's home turf of Gorakhpur which was witnessing an actor vs actor battle. As per the Election Commission, Ravi Kishan won the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat by a margin of over 1,00,000 votes. Kajal Nishad stood second with over 4,82,000 votes, while Ravi Kishan garnered over 5,85,000 votes. 

Actor vs Actor Battle in Gorakhpur 

While BJP leader Ravi Kishan was seeking a second term from the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha constituency, Samajwadi Party had fielded actress Kajal Nishad against him. BSP candidate Javed Simnani was contesting in the elections but was unlikely to make any difference to the outcome. 

Gorakhpur voted in the last phase of general elections on June 1 and votes will be counted on Tuesday, June 4. Vote counting for the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat will begin at 8 AM. Gorakhpur Lok Sabha constituency comprises of 5 assembly segments namely Caimpiyarganj, Pipraich, Gorakhpur Urban, Gorakhpur Rural, and Sahajanwa. 


Gorakhpur Lok Sabha Election Result 2024: Here Are The LIVE Updates

  • Ravi Kishan wins from Gorakhpur Lok Sabha constituency 



  • Ravi Kishan leading in Gorakhpur by a margin of 8000 votes 


  • Initial Trends- Ravi Kishan leading from Gorakhpur 


  • EVM counting to begin at 8:30 am 
  • Counting of postal ballots begin 

Gorakhpur: BJP Bastion and CM Yogi Adityanath's Home Turf 

Gorakhpur has been a BJP bastion, with now Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath claiming the seat for the party. As Adityanath was elected to lead the BJP government in Uttar Pradesh after the party emerged victorious in 2017 state assembly elections, top leadership reposed its faith on Bhojpuri actor-tuned-politician Ravi Kishan. 


In 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Gorakhpur seat was claimed by BJP’s Ravi Kishan who secured 717,122 votes, followed by Samajwadi Party with 4,15,458 votes and Congress with 22,972 votes. In the 2018 by-elections, the seat was clenched by the Samajwadi Party with 456,589 votes. Prior to that, the BJP had been ruling this seat since 1998 with Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath tasting success for five consecutive times till 2014. 



Published June 4th, 2024 at 06:54 IST