Updated June 4th, 2024 at 06:57 IST

Lok Sabha Election Results 2024: Key Battles To Watch Out For On Vote Counting Day

Lok Sabha Election Results 2024: Here are the Lok Sabha seats which are expected to witness a fierce electoral battle on counting day, June 4.

Reported by: Digital Desk
Edited by: Ronit Singh
Lok Sabha Election Results 2024: Key Battles To Watch Out For On Vote Counting Day | Image:File

New Delhi: After two months of voting across the country, the counting of votes will take place from 8 AM onwards on June 4. While the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led NDA is seeking a third term for government at the Centre, the Congress-led INDI bloc is confident of wresting power from the saffron camp in the Lok Sabha election. 

Notably, the Republic-PMARQ exit poll predicted a landslide victory for the NDA with 359 seats and the INDI alliance might win 154 seats.  As per the predictions, the BJP alone will win over 316 seats and Congress 66 seats. 


Lok Sabha Election Result 2024 LIVE: Key Battles to Watch Out For 

Varanasi: The Varanasi constituency that went to voting in the seventh and final phase of the Lok Sabha polls is in the spotlight as Prime Minister Narendra Modi contested for the third term, hoping to record victory from the segment this time. The Congress has pitted Ajay Rai, who faced defeat against the Prime Minister, from the segment. 


Wayanad, Raebareli: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi is contesting from two Lok Sabha seats- Wayanad in Kerala and Raebareli in Uttar Pradesh. The Congress leader is facing CPI leader Annie Raja in Wayanad, while BJP candidate Dinesh Pratap Singh in Raebareli.  

Gandhinagar: Union Home Minister and BJP heavyweight Amit Shah is again contesting the Lok Sabha election from his home state Gujarat's Gandhinagar. The Congress has pitted Sonal Patel, the former women’s wing’s chairperson of the Gujarat Congress in the urban seat, against the Home Minister. 


Kannauj: Samajwadi Party (SP) chief and former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav is contesting from the Kannauj Lok Sabha seat against the BJP candidate and the sitting MP Subrat Pathak. Notably, the Kannauj seat in Uttar Pradesh has been a traditional stronghold of the Samajwadi Party. 

Amethi: One of the key seats of Uttar Pradesh, Amethi will see a fierce electoral battle between BJP candidate Smriti Irani and Congress' KL Sharma. In a surprising move, the Congress fielded a non-Gandhi candidate from Amethi, a seat where Rahul Gandhi was defeated by Irani in the 2019 polls. 


Mandi: Two key candidates are in electoral battle from the Mandi Lok Sabha seat in Himachal Pradesh. BJP has pitted actor-turned-politician Kangana Ranaut against Congress' Vikramaditya Singh. Traditionally, the Congress party has dominated the seat of Mandi, with the late Virbhadra Singh representing it thrice, and Pratibha Singh winning three times including two by-polls.


Published June 4th, 2024 at 06:57 IST