Updated June 4th, 2024 at 21:02 IST

Varanasi Election Result 2024: PM Modi Wins by a Margin of Over 1.5 Lakh Votes

Varanasi Lok Sabha Election Result 2024 Live: Republic World brings to you the latest updates from the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat.

Reported by: Digital Desk
Edited by: Surabhi Shaurya
Varanasi Lok Sabha Election Result 2024 | Image:Republic Digital

Varanasi Lok Sabha Election Result 2024: Prime Minister Narendra Modi has won the Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency by over 1.50 lakh votes. PM Modi has defeated Congress' Ajay Rai and BSP's Ather Jamal Lari to secure the seat. While all 80 seats of Uttar Pradesh were closely monitored, Varanasi was in the spotlight as Prime Minister Narendra Modi contested his third election from this highly-discussed constituency. 

The voting for the 2024 Lok Sabha polls in Varanasi took place on June 1, with PM Modi facing competition from six candidates, including Congress party's state president Ajay Rai. In the 2024 elections, 41 candidates initially submitted their nomination papers, among them was comedian Shyam Rangeela. However, only six candidates were approved to contest against the Prime Minister.


Prime Minister Narendra Modi wins by over 1.50 lakh votes. 


How Counting Unfolded 

With a comfortable lead of over 60,000 votes, Prime Minister Narendra Modi of the BJP is maintaining a strong position as the counting progresses. 


Here's a breakdown of the current vote count:

  • NARENDRA MODI (BJP): Leading with 204,624 votes
  • AJAY RAI (INC): Trailing behind with 139,917 votes
  • ATHER JAMAL LARI (BSP): Securing 13,409 votes
  • KOLISETTY SHIVA KUMAR (Yuga Thulasi Party): Garnering 1,968 votes
  • GAGAN PRAKASH YADAV (Apna Dal Kamerawadi): Accumulating 1,270 votes
  • DINESH KUMAR YADAV (Independent): With 1,036 votes
  • SANJAY KUMAR TIWARI (Independent): Securing 739 votes
  • NOTA (None Of The Above): Recorded at 3,052 votes     
  • PM Modi leads in Varanasi by over 9000 votes. 
  • PM Narendra Modi ahead of Ajay Rai by around 600 votes from Varanasi Lok Sabha consitutency.
  • PM Modi is trailing by over 6,000 votes against Congress candidate Ajay Rai, according to the Election Commission.
  • PM Modi trails in initial trends, Congress' Ajay Rai leads. Counting of votes underway
  • PM Modi maintains the lead against Congress' Ajay Rai.
  • PM Modi takes lead in Varanasi, Congress' Ajay Rai trails
  • Counting of votes begins 
  • Counting of votes to begin at 8 AM

Varanasi, A BJP Stronghold Since 1991

Varanasi has been a stronghold for the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) since 1991, winning the constituency seven times out of eight, with its only loss occurring in 2004 to Congress's Rajesh Kumar Mishra.


In 2014, Prime Minister Modi contested from Varanasi for the first time, securing a significant victory by 3.72 lakh votes or 56.37% of the vote share, defeating AAP convener Arvind Kejriwal

In the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, PM Modi won again, increasing his victory margin to over 4.5 lakh votes or 63.6% of the vote share, defeating Shalini Yadav of the Samajwadi Party, as the NDA government stormed to power at the Centre.


Published June 4th, 2024 at 06:42 IST