Updated June 11th, 2024 at 15:32 IST

UP Election Twist: Nearly 6 INDI Bloc MPs May Lose Their Membership of Parliament | Here's Why

UP Election Result Might See A Twist As Half-A-Dozen INDIA Bloc MPs May Be Convicted

Reported by: Digital Desk
UP Election Twist: Nearly 6 INDI Bloc MPs May Lose Their Membership of Parliament | Here's Why | Image:Republic

Lucknow: In a big post-poll twist in Uttar Pradesh, the Lok Sabha membership of at least six newly elected MPs is at stake as they face criminal charges which could attract them to a jail term of more than two years. 

If these MPs are convicted and sentenced to two or more than two years of punishment, then they stand the risk of losing their membership to Parliament. 


Section 8(3) of the Representation of People Act, 1951 (RPA) mandates the disqualification of MPs in case they are convicted of any offence and sentenced to imprisonment for not less than two years. 

UP Election Twist: Know the MPs 

Afzal Ansari, the Samajwadi Party's elected candidate for Lok Sabha from Ghazipur seat, was convicted to a four-year sentence in the Gangster Act case. Last month, the Allahabad High Court ordered a stay on his conviction, allowing him to contest the polls.  

Once the court reopens after summer vacations, the hearing on the matter will be conducted in July. If the court upholds the conviction, Ansari may lose his membership in Parliament. 


Dharmendra Yadav, who won the Azamgarh seat defeating incumbent MP Dinesh Lal Yadav, has four cases pending against him. If he gets convicted for more than two years, he may also lose his membership in Parliament. 

Babu Singh Kushwaha, who won the Jaunpur seat ending his 10-year-exile in politics, is facing several cases related to the NRHM scam that took place in the Mayawati regime where he was a minister. Charges have been framed in eight of the 25 cases filed against him.


Rambhual Nishad, who won the Sultanpur seat by defeating BJP's Maneka Gandhi, has eight cases registered against him, including one under the Gangsters Act. He is also among the 'vulnerable' winners of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Another SP MP from Chandauli Lok Sabha seat, Virendra Singh, who defeated former minister Mahendra Nath Pandey, is facing serious criminal charges against him which could lead to his disqualification from Lok Sabha if convicted for more than two years. 


Imran Masood, who won the Saharanpur Lok Sabha seat on a Congress ticket, faces a money laundering case by the Enforcement Directorate. The probe agency has framed charges against him in two cases. 

In the past too, several leaders including Congress MP Rahul Gandhi lost their Lok Sabha membership after being convicted in cases. 


Published June 11th, 2024 at 15:32 IST