General News

Bharat Ratna: PM Modi Thanks Pranab Mukherjee For His Contribution In Nation's Development, Pays Tribute To Nanaji Deshmukh, Bhupen Hazarika

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Published:


  • President of India Ram Nath Kovind conferred 'Bharat Ratna' to Late social activist Nanaji Deshmukh, late playback singer Bhupen Hazarika and former President of India Pranab Mukherjee
  • Bharat Ratna the highest civilian award of the country
  • PM Modi extended his congratulatory message to the three distinguished individuals

As the President of India conferred the highest civilian award of the country, 'Bharat Ratna', to Late social activist Nanaji Deshmukh, late playback singer Bhupen Hazarika and former President of India Pranab Mukherjee, PM Modi thanked them for their contribution and said that they are inspiration. Bharat Ratna was conferred to the three distinguished individuals by President Ram Nath Kovind on August 8.

Taking to Twitter, PM Modi wrote for former President Mukherjee that it was an honour for him to witness him receiving the Bharat Ratna. He called it a 'fitting recognition of everything that Mukherjee has done for the nation. 

READ: President Ram Nath Kovind confers Bharat Ratna on Pranab Mukherjee, Nanaji Deshmukh (P) and Bhupen Hazarika (P)

Expressing his gratitude for Late Dr. Bhupen Hazarika who won the honour Posthumously, PM Modi said that his music of transcends all barriers and that he is universally admired cultural icon, whose rich works capture all aspects of human spirit and emotions. He also wrote for Late Nanaji Deshmukh who was conferred the honour posthumously that  India pays tributes to a great person like him.  Modi credited him for his efforts to improve India’s villages and empower the lives of our rural population. 

READ: PM Modi calls Jammu & Kashmir "The crown of India", explains all facets of Article 370's abrogation

The Bharat Ratna

The Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award of the Republic of India. Instituted in 1954, the award is conferred "in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order", without distinction of race, occupation, position, or sex. The award was originally limited to achievements in the arts, literature, science, and public services, but the government expanded the criteria to include "any field of human endeavour" in December 2011. The recommendations for the Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President, with a maximum of three nominees being awarded per year. Recipients receive a Sanad signed by the President and a peepal-leaf–shaped medallion; there is no monetary grant associated with the award. Bharat Ratna recipients rank seventh in the Indian order of precedence.

READ: India revives Samjhauta Express service after Pakistan tries to provoke by halting it at Attari-Wagah border