BJP Leader Says, 'Will Wait For Shiv Sena But The Govt Will Be Ours'

General News

Amid the impasse in Maharashtra, BJP leader Sudhir Mungantiwar, on Monday said that party will wait for Shiv Sena but the BJP will form the governement

Written By Jitesh Vachhatani | Mumbai | Updated On:

14 days after the people of Maharashtra gave its mandate, there is still no clear sight of a government in the state after the BJP-Sena alliance lost its way amidst alleged promises. Amid the impasse, BJP leader Sudhir Mungantiwar, on Monday said that the party will wait for Shiv Sena but the government will definitely be formed by the BJP. This comes after BJP leaders met Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis at his residence in Mumbai on 5th November. 

READ | Maharashtra: Sanjay Raut Claims Shiv Sena Has Support Of 170 MLAs

"We will wait for Shiv Sena," says Sudhir Mungantiwar

Mungantiwar after the meeting with CM Fadnavis hinted that the BJP might stake its claim to form government any time soon. He said, "We have had a very comprehensive discussion. Although we will wait for Shiv Sena, but ultimately the government will be ours. There is no 'if' and 'but' here, you will get the news anytime that we are forming the government." 

Sena has support of 170 MLAs: Sanjay Raut

Shiv Sena senior leader Sanjay Raut on Sunday claimed that the party has 170 MLAs supporting them and that the figure can even reach 175. Raut while speaking to reporters also said that Shiv Sena does not play 'double games' and the party will take what is rightfully theirs. "This is not about pride or ego. They have a figure of 105. They should have staked their claim to form the government on October 24 itself," he further added. Earlier, Shiv Sena's mouthpiece 'Saamana' had stated that the BJP could not prove the majority if it claims to form the government without taking it on board. 

READ | Maharashtra's Political Course Depends On Outgoing CM's Steps: Sena

Maharashtra poll result

When the poll result was announced on October 24, the saffron alliance swept Maharashtra, winning a combined tally of 161 (BJP- 105, Sena -56). But the 'Maha- Agadhi' alliance (NCP-Congress)  made a comeback as the NCP bagged 54 seats while the languishing Congress too bagged 44 seats.

READ | Fadnavis-led Government Will Be Formed Soon: Maharashtra Minister

READ | Maharashtra: Shiv Sena Receives Support From Another Independent MLA

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water