PM Modi Extends Navratri Wishes To Citizens Of India

General News

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, on Sunday, took to Twitter to wish India on the first day of Navratri festival. Many other ministers also tweeted out wishes

Written By Ria Kapoor | Mumbai | Updated On:
PM Modi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, on Sunday, took to Twitter to wish the world on the first day of Navratri festival. In his tweet, he said that he wished that Maa Shailputri blessed everyone with strength and peace. In another tweet, he said that he wished that Maa Durga fills everyone's lives with energy and new vigour.

Apart from PM Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, and Union Minister Smriti Irani also took to twitter with wish the people of the nation 'a very happy Navratri'. Additionally, other Ministers including Piyush Goyal, Kiren Rijiju, and Sarbananda Sonowal also took to the micro-blogging site to send out their heartiest wishes to the public on the starting day of the festival.

People wished the PM back

In response to his warm tweet that included a video about the first form of the goddess, many of his followers took to the comments section to wish him back on the auspicious occasion and wished him all the health, peace, and prosperity.

READ | Gautam Gambhir welcomes Narendra Modi, hails his triumphant return

What is Navratri?

Navratri, which means ‘Nine-nights’ in Sanskrit, is a nine-day festival is famous in various parts of India and is celebrated by Hindus all over the country with great energy and enthusiasm. It is a colourful festival in which nine forms of Goddess Durga are worshipped.

READ | PM Modi remembers 28 September 2016 - salutes Army's surgical strike

Out of the four Navratris in a year, only two-namely Chaitra Navratri and Sharad Navratri are celebrated widely. People in different parts of the country celebrate this same festival differently. During the festival, people observe fast and offer special prayers to the ‘Nine Forms of Maa Durga,’ who is believed to have taken the avatar of Devi Durga to destroy Mahishasura. Additionally, in some parts of India, the nine forms of Maa Durga are worshipped with nine different forms of prasad or bhog. 

READ | PM Modi returns from the US, receives energetic welcome at the airport

READ | PM Modi to attend Guru Nanak's 550th birth anniversary event: SAD

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water