Raj Thackeray's Convoy Meets With An Accident, MNS Chief Unhurt

General News

In a near miss, Maharashtra Navanirman Sena (MNS) chief Raj Thackeray's convoy, on Saturday, has met with an accident near Sanpada Highway, as per sources.

Written By Suchitra Karthikeyan | Mumbai | Updated On:
Raj Thackeray

In a near miss, Maharashtra Navanirman Sena (MNS) chief Raj Thackeray's convoy, on Saturday, has met with an accident near Sanpada Highway, as per sources. Sources report that the accident took place while Thackeray's convoy was returning after completing Ekweera Devi temple darshan. Three cars are reportedly damaged. Visuals from the accident site show Raj Thackeray, visibly unhurt.

Raj Thackeray's convoy in an accident

Visuals show the hood of a silver car damaged, while police inspect the scene. Another silver car is seen with its rear end damaged. Many traffic police  and police officers are seen around the cars, inspecting it. Meanwhile, a visibly unhurt Raj Thackeray is seen sitting under a tree while onlookers gather around the area.

Here are visuals from the scene:

READ | MNS releases first list of 27 candidates for upcoming assembly polls

MNS contests Maharashtra state polls

Meanwhile, on September 30, after a huge dilemma, Raj Thackeray announced that MNS will contest in the upcoming Maharashtra Assembly polls. Following that on Tuesday, MNS  released the first list of 27 candidates for the polls. As the first list of candidates show 27 constituencies from where the leaders will be fielded, it does not name a candidate from Worli in Mumbai. Yuva Sena chief Aaditya Thackeray, son of Raj's cousin Uddhav Thackeray, will be making his electoral debut from the Worli constituency in Mumbai. Maharashtra which has 288 Assembly seats will go to polls on 21 October 2019 and its result will be declared on October 24.

WATCH | Maharashtra polls: BJP to contest 150 seats, Shiv Sena left with 124

MNS-Congress campaign in Lok Sabha polls

During the Lok Sabha polls, MNS had not contested for polls. While Congress roped in Thackeray as a campaigner for the polls, NCP had put its foot down on an alliance. The MNS chief had then actively campaigned urging people to not vote for the current Prime Minister Narendra Modi. But to no avail, as the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance won 41 seats while the UPA was reduced to merely 5 seats.

READ | Maharashtra: Sureshot nominees, notable exceptions in BJP's first list

Fadnavis announces final BJP-Shiv Sena seat-sharing

Finalising the seat-sharing formula, Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, on Friday, declared that Shiv Sena will contest for polls from 124 constituencies, the BJP will contest from 150 and its allies will contest from 14 constituencies, at a joint press conference in Mumbai. Fadnavis also announced that all BJP allies will fight the elections under the BJP's symbol. The press briefing was chaired by the Chief Minister and the Shiv Sena Supremo Uddhav Thackeray. The Shiv Sena chief also dispelled rumours of Aaditya being considered as a Chief Ministerial candidate.

READ | Aaditya Thackeray to contest from Worli in the Maharashtra elections

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water