Who Will Form Maha Govt? Fadnavis Mirrors Sharad Pawar's Big Statement

General News

In a dramatic twist in Maharashtra politics, according to sources, former CM Fadnavis has told the BJP leaders in a meeting that they will soon form government

Written By Jay Pandya | Mumbai | Updated On:

In a dramatic twist in Maharashtra politics, according to sources, former CM Devendra Fadnavis has told the BJP MLAs and cadres in a meeting on Friday that they will soon form government in the state. This comes at a time when NCP Chief Sharad Pawar has stated that a Sena-NCP-Congress government will be formed which will run for 5 years while addressing reporters in Nagpur. The NCP supremo is currently meeting farmers in Chargaon village, Nagpur to assess crop damage and will meet Congress chief Sonia Gandhi over the weekend to finalise the Common Minimum Programme.

READ | Sharad Pawar finally states intent: 'Sena-Cong-NCP will form Maha govt for 5 years'

Fadnavis called President's rule 'unfortunate'

After President's rule was imposed in Maharashtra over a long political impasse, BJP's Devendra Fadnavis had called the imposition 'very unfortunate' and said that the BJP expects that the state will get a 'stable' government. The BJP leader further said that he expects the other parties to take the situation seriously. 

In a press release, the CM said:

It is very unfortunate that no government has been formed in Maharashtra and the occasion of impeachment of the President is imposed on the state, despite the people giving a very clear mandate. However, we expect that the state will get a stable government soon.

Sena to get CM post in NCP-Cong-Sena agreement: sources

Earlier in the day, sources have reported that the Sena-NCP-Congress alliance has decided on a formula, with the Sena retaining the CM post for all 5 years. Sources further report that the cabinet will be split with Sena getting 16 portfolios, NCP -14 and Congress will get 12 berths. Sources report that the party chiefs Uddhav Thackeray, Sonia Gandhi, and Sharad Pawar will take the final call on the Common Minimum Programme worked out. But Nawab Malik has confirmed that Sena will be given the CM post.

READ | Shiv Sena to get CM post for 5 years, cabinet portfolios split decided: Sources

CMP finalised, Sena breaks from NDA

Earlier on Thursday, the final draft of CMP was prepared in the joint meeting of the leaders from the three parties. Congress' Prithviraj Chavan, Manikrao Thakre and Vijay Wadettiwar, Shiv Sena's Eknath Shinde and Subhash Desai and NCP's Chhagan Bhujbal, Nawab Malik and Jayant Patil met in Mumbai to decide the portfolios split, target issues. etc. Meanwhile, Sena and BJP's Maharashtra battle reached a national level as Sena's 18 Lok Sabha MPs too decided on Thursday to boycott the all MPs meeting on November 17 prior to the Winter session of the Parliament. On the other hand, Former CM Devendra Fadnavis has stated that 'Three parties can not run a government. There is no alternative to BJP government,' hinting at re-elections.

READ | Trouble already? Sonia Gandhi miffed with Maha Cong for Sena reachout before Cong-NCP pact

READ | Sena-NCP-Congress leaders to meet Maharashtra Governor on Saturday; CMP draft finalised


By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water