21 States - 58 Ministers: Here's The State-wise Breakup Of The All-new Modi Cabinet That Took Oath At Rashtrapati Bhavan

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Union Cabinet 2.0 was sworn-in by President Ram Nath Kovind on Thursday at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in a grand ceremony attended by over 8,000 guests. With a massive line-up of ministers with quite a few familiar faces and many new entrants, a total of 58 ministers were inducted in the Union Cabinet.

At first, Narendra Modi took the oath as the Prime Minister of the newly-elected government after a landslide victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, followed by BJP chief Amit Shah making his entry into the Cabinet by being sworn-in as a Union Minister and other NDA leaders taking their oaths. 

Among the 58 Ministers who were sworn-in during Thursday's ceremony, here are the 21 states which will be represented by Narendra Modi's Council of Minister in 2019, with the highest members from Uttar Pradesh, which sends the highest number of MPs to the Lok Sabha:

  1. Arunachal Pradesh: 1
  2. Assam: 1
  3. Bihar: 5
  4. Chhattisgarh: 1
  5. Delhi: 1
  6. Goa: 1
  7. Gujarat: 3
  8. Haryana: 3
  9. Himachal Pradesh: 1
  10. Jammu and Kashmir: 1
  11. Jharkhand: 2
  12. Karnataka: 4
  13. Madhya Pradesh: 5
  14. Maharashtra: 8
  15. Odisha: 2
  16. Punjab: 2
  17. Rajasthan: 3
  18. Telangana: 1
  19. Uttar Pradesh: 9 
  20. Uttarakhand: 1
  21. West Bengal: 2

READ | Here's The Full List Of Ministers In The Second Narendra Modi-led NDA Government Who Are Taking Oath With The Prime Minister

On Thursday, along with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Ram Vilas Paswan, Smriti Irani, Babul Supriyo, Ramdas Athavale, Hardeep Singh Puri also took oath to office among others as Cabinet Ministers, Ministers of State (Independent Charge), and Ministers of State at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. 

On May 23, PM Modi made a landslide victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha election by winning 353 seats out of 542 seats, with BJP winning 303 seats on its own in the country. The Bharatiya Janata Party-led by PM Modi and Amit Shah won the highest ever seats in the Lok Sabha in this election, by sweeping states like Rajasthan, Gujarat and Delhi.

WATCH: Loud Cheers Welcome Smriti Irani As She Takes The Oath-of-office As A Union Minister In The Modi Cabinet 2.0