After Skipping Niti Aayog Meet, Mamata Banerjee To Give June 19 All-party Presidents' Meeting Called By PM Modi A Miss

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:


  • Trinamool chief Mamata Banerjee to skip meeting of the heads of all political party called by PM Modi
  • The meeting of all-party chiefs chaired by PM Modi to discuss the 'one nation, one election' issue among other matters
  • Earlier, the West Bengal Chief Minister refused to not attend the Niti Aayog meeting

Trinamool (AITC) party chief and West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee will be skipping the meeting of the heads of all political party called by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, news agency PTI reported. 

The meeting of all-party chiefs will discuss the "one nation, one election" issue and other important matters, and will take place in the parliamentary library building in New Delhi on Wednesday.

He invited the chief of all parties after chairing an all-party meeting on the eve of the first session of the new Lok Sabha on June 15.

Earlier, the West Bengal Chief Minister denied to not attend the Niti Aayog meeting chaired by PM Modi on June 15, saying "Niti Aayog does not have any power, it just to show off. There's no point going there."

WATCH: 'There's No Point Going There', Says Mamata Banerjee Announcing She'll Skip Niti Aayog's Meeting To Be Chaired By PM Modi On June 15

Furthermore, as per reports, there are clouds of suspense looming large on whether or not Telangana chief minister and Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) president K Chandrashekhar Rao will attend the meeting. KCR is yet to respond to the invitation by the Prime Minister as he has a packed schedule, and is likely to send a representative instead. 

Speaking in the matter, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi said that Prime Minister called a meeting of Presidents of all political parties to discuss important issues including One Nation, One Election & 150th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi. 

He further said that PM Modi has also called a meeting of all Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha members on June 20 to build team spirit in the parliament. 

The first session of the newly-constituted 17th Lok Sabha will be held from June 17 to July 26.

READ | PM Modi Calls All-party Presidents' Meeting On June 19 To Discuss 'One Nation One Election' Among Other Issues