Drama Amid Chaos In Karnataka Speaker's Chambers As DK Shivakumar Tears Resignation Letters Of 4 Of 11 Congress-JD(S) MLAs To Prevent Mass Exodus

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:


  • DK Shivakumar has reportedly torn down the resignation letter of four ministers inside the chamber of state assembly Speaker
  • He also tried to hold talks with the senior leaders of the Congress party in order to control the situation

In a dramatic development in the Karnataka crisis on Saturday, Congress leader and Minister of Irrigation in Kumaraswamy's cabinet DK Shivakumar has reportedly torn down the resignation letter of four ministers inside the chamber of state Assembly Speaker K. R. Ramesh Kumar in Bengaluru.

Furthermore, amid the high-end drama in the Speaker's Chamber, DK Shivakumar also tried to hold talks with senior leaders including Ramalinga Reddy, Basavaraj Rayareddy, Munirathna, and S T Somashekhar in order to control the situation. 

While the Karnataka government is in a massive crisis, Chief Minister Kumaraswamy is currently out of India, in the United States. 

MASSIVE: Multiple Karnataka MLAs Resign, JD(S)-Congress Coalition On The Brink, Former State Home Minister Ramalinga Reddy Confirms He's Part Of Exodus

Amid the fast-paced drama in the Congress-JD(S) coalition government in Karnataka, an array of Congress and JD(S) MLAs have tendered their resignation from there respective parties to the state Assembly Speaker and they have moved to the Governor's House.

One of the MLA from Congress BC Patil who has resigned has said that injustice has been done to his constituency in north Karnataka.

Meanwhile, earlier in the day, Republic TV accessed exclusive pictures showing BJP leader from Karnataka Yeddyurappa's close aide outside the hotel where the rebel JD(S) leaders are staying. As per sources, H Vishwanath, Mahesh Kumathalli, BC Patil, Ramesh Jarkiholi, Shivaram Hebbar, Narayan Gowda, Gopaliah and Pratap Gowda are among the 11 Congress-JD(S) leaders who have tendered their resignation to the Assembly Speaker, leaving the Karnataka government on the brink of losing its majority status.

Current Karnataka Government numbers:

The Congress and JD(S) coalition, which won 115 seats combined, is currently in power in the Karnataka State Assembly managing a slim margin over the BJP's 105 seats. With the exodus of 13 MLAs from the JD(S)- Congress coalition, then the JD(S)-Congress combination gets reduced to 102 MLAs, falling short of BJP's 105 MLAs. But this excludes the BSP's 1 MLA and 2 Independent MLAs. With the reduced number of seats, the halfway mark has also been reduced to 105 with both BJP and the current government JD(S)-Congress-BSP) possess 105 seats.

READ | Karnataka Crisis: Fast-paced Developments As Multiple Congress-JD(S) MLAs Tender Resignations And Move To Governor's Residence, BC Patil Blames 'injustice'