Karnataka: As Kumaraswamy's Government Falls, Congress Goes On 'death Of Democracy' Overdrive And Attacks BJP

Written By Ankit Prasad | Mumbai | Published:


  • The Congress has attacked the BJP, crying foul over the fall of the HD Kumaraswamy-led Congress-JDS government
  • The party has alleged the use of underhand means and alleged 'death of democracy'
  • Kumaraswamy tendered his resignation as Chief Minister after his coalition managed just 99 MLAs' votes versus the BJP's 105

The Congress outside of Karnataka has offered its first response over the dramatic events that were witnessed in the Karnataka assembly on Tuesday where the HD Kumaraswamy-led Congress-JDS coalition government finally fell after a protracted saga.

Taking to Twitter, Sanjay Nirupam wrote:

"In Karnataka, the BJP's thirst for power has murdered democracy.

A democratically-elected government was threatened, defrauded and enticed with money to sway them.

The MLAs were stolen & hidden. Parliamentary tradition was abused. This is a sin. 

One day the levee of sins will break."

This came even as former Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah threatened the MLAs who had resigned:

Senior Congress leader KC Venugopal who had been dispatched on multiple occasions to attempt to steady the ship wrote:

Congress leader and senior lawyer Abhishek Manu Singhvi who had played a big role in the government's formation during an overnight hearing in the Supreme Court in May 2018 tweeted:

"The Congress-JDS government may have fallen but the BJP showed today that to achieve power there is no level to which they won't fall. A black day for Democracy."

The HD Kumaraswamy-led Congress-JDS coalition government fell on Tuesday after losing the trust vote which was finally allowed to happen, weeks after over a dozen coalition MLAs mass-resigned. 

Following delaying tactics over the last several days, with numerous MLAs still stationed in Mumbai and the Supreme Court also hearing pleas seeking to compel the Karnataka Speaker to conduct the trust vote, the Kumaraswamy government managed just 99 votes in the assembly versus the BJP's 105. 3 MLAs abstained from voting, as did 15 rebels in the 223-member house.

Kumaraswamy has tendered his resignation, while the BJP, which now has the numbers, is likely to stake claim to forming a government in the state.