(Image credits: Twitter)
(Image credits: Twitter)


Modi Cabinet 2.0: Here's The Party-wise Break-up Of The 58 Ministers Of The Narendra Modi-led NDA Government That Was Sworn-in At Rashtrapati Bhavan

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Union Cabinet 2.0 were sworn-in by President Ram Nath Kovind on Thursday at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in a grand ceremony attended by over 8,000 guests. With a massive line-up of ministers with quite a few familiar faces and many new entrants, a total of 58 ministers were inducted in the Union Cabinet. 

During the ceremony, Narendra Modi took the oath as the Prime Minister of the newly-elected government after a landslide victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, followed by BJP chief Amit Shah making his entry into the Cabinet by being sworn-in as a Union Minister and other NDA leaders taking their oaths. 

Among the 58 Ministers who sworn-in during today's ceremony, here the figures of the ally parties of the National Democratic Alliance which got a ministerial berth in the Modi Cabinet 2.0:

  1. BJP - 54
  2. Akali Dal - 1
  3. LJP - 1
  4. Sena - 1
  5. RPI (A) - 1

While BJP got 54 ministers, its Punjab Ally Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) got one minister as Harsimrat Kaur Badal took the oath as the Cabinet Minister. Moreover, its Bihar ally LJP (Lok Janshakti Party) got a ministerial berth with Ram Vilas Paswan swearing-in as the Union Minister. Along with SAD and LJP, BJP's Maharashtra ally Shiv Sena too got one minister in the Cabinet with Arvind Sawant taking oath as the Cabinet Minister. RPI (A) (Republican Party of India (A))-led by Ramdas Athawale also got a ministerial berth with the chief of the party swearing-in as the Ministers of State. 

Notably, the JD(U) opted out of the cabinet after not being allotted more than one Ministry.

READ | Here's The Full List Of Ministers In The Second Narendra Modi-led NDA Government Who Are Taking Oath With The Prime Minister

Out of the total 58 ministers, the average age of all the ministers is 36-59, with 25 in Cabinet, 9 Ministers of State (Independent Charge) and 24 Ministers of State.

Over 8,000 guests including VVIPs, attended the oath-taking ceremony of PM Modi and his council of Ministers held at the forecourt - the stately path between the main gates and the main building - in the Rashtrapati Bhavan. 

On May 23, PM Modi took the NDA to a landslide victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha election by winning 353 seats out of 542 seats, with BJP winning 303 seats on its own in the country. The Bharatiya Janata Party-led by PM Modi and Amit Shah won the highest ever seats in the Lok Sabha in this election, by sweeping states like Rajasthan, Gujarat and Delhi.

WATCH: Loud Cheers Welcome Smriti Irani As She Takes The Oath-of-office As A Union Minister In The Modi Cabinet 2.0