Modi Cabinet 2.0: Maneka Gandhi, Suresh Prabhu, JP Nadda, Radha Mohan Singh Among Those Not Sworn-in At Rashtrapati Bhavan With PM Modi

Written By Digital Desk | Mumbai | Published:

BJP leaders Maneka Gandhi, Suresh Prabhu, JP Nadda, Radha Mohan Singh -- Cabinet ministers in the first Modi government -- were not among the 58 ministers who took oath with at Rashtrapati Bhavan on Thursday as part of the new Narendra Modi-led NDA government.

Besides the Cabinet Ministers, those of Minister of State rank -- Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Mahesh Sharma, Jayant Sinha, SS Ahluwalia, Vijay Goel, KJ Alphons, Ramesh Jigajinagi, Ram Kripal Yadav, Anant Kumar Hegde, Anupriya Patel, Satya Pal Singh -- have also not been included in the Council of Ministers.

Of these ministers, K Alphons lost his election while others have been victorious.

Maneka Gandhi, one of the senior-most members, is tipped to become pro-tem Speaker of Lok Sabha.

Maneka Gandhi was the Union Minister of Women and Child development, Suresh Prabhu was first Railway Minister and then Commerce and Civil Aviation Minister, JP Nadda was the Health and Family Welfare Minister, while Radha Mohan Singh was the Minister of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare.

Among the Ministers of State, Col Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore was the MoS of Information & Broadcasting and Youth Affairs and Sports, Mahesh Sharma was the Minister of Culture, Jayant Sinha was first MoS Finance and then MoS Civil Aviation, SS Ahluwalia was MoS in the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology, Vijay Goel was MoS in the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs and Statistics & Programme Implementation, KJ Alphons was the MoS for Electronics and Information Technology, Ramesh Jigajinagi was the MoS Drinking Water & Sanitation, Ram Kripal Yadav was the Minister of State for Rural Development, Anant Kumar Hegde was the Minister of State for Skill Development Entrepreneurship, Anupriya Patel was the Minister of State for Health and Family Welfare, Satya Pal Singh was the Minister of State for Human Resource Development (Higher Education).

Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj and Uma Bharti also did not figure in the Cabinet. While Jaitley opted out of the government on health reasons, Swaraj and Bharti did not contest the Lok Sabha polls.