Updated June 10th, 2024 at 17:09 IST

'Grossly Incorrect': BJP's First Kerala MP Suresh Gopi Refutes Resignation Rumors Day After Oath

BJP MP Suresh Gopi issued a clarification stating that the reports of his resignation from the Modi Cabinet are 'grossly incorrect'.

Reported by: Digital Desk
BJP MP Suresh Gopi deployed the slogan “A Union Minister for Thrissur, Modi’s guarantee” during campaigns | Image:PTI

Kochi: Hours after reports of Kerala BJP MP Suresh Gopi's desire to step down from his post surfaced, the actor-turned-politician has issued a clarification debunking these claims, asserting that rumors of his resignation from the Modi Cabinet are 'grossly incorrect'.

Taking to X, Gopi clarified, "A few media platforms are spreading the incorrect news that I am going to resign from the Council of Ministers of the Modi Government. This is grossly incorrect. Under the leadership of PM @narendramodi Ji we are committed to the development and prosperity of Kerala."


The BJP MP's reaction came after several reports claiming that Gopi who took oath as Minister of State (MoS) in the Modi government 3.0 on Sunday, was expected to resign from the position shortly due to his previous professional engagements in the film industry. This happened just a day after he took the oath as Union Minister in the Modi government 3.0.


As per reports, soon after the swearing-in ceremony, Gopi told Malayalam TV channels, “I want to work as an MP. My stand was that I didn’t want it (Cabinet berth). I had told (the party) that I was not interested in it (Cabinet berth). I think I will be relieved soon”.

“The people of Thrissur know very well. I will perform very well as an MP. I want to act in films. Let the party decide,” he said.


The actor-politician won from the Thrissur constituency in the 2024 parliamentary elections creating history as the first Lok Sabha MP of the BJP from Kerala.
Gopi who during the elections had become the face of the 'Modiyude Gaurantee' (Modi's Guarantee) promise to Kerala was inducted into the union council of ministers in the government of Prime Minister Modi who was sworn in at Rashtrapati Bhawan on Sunday for a third consecutive term.

The 65-year-old actor won the parliamentary seat of Thrissur in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections defeating advocate and CPM candidate VS Sunilkumar by 74,686 votes.


Published June 10th, 2024 at 16:16 IST