Updated June 10th, 2024 at 12:56 IST

'Fully Committed To Kisan Kalyan': PM Signs File for Farmer Welfare in First Decision of Modi 3.0

PM Narendra Modi on Monday signed the first file authorising release of 17th installment of PM Kisan Nidhi.

Reported by: Digital Desk
'Fully Committed To Kisan Kalyan': PM Modi Begins Term 3, Signs First File Related to Farmer Welfare | Image:X

New Delhi: A day after swearing-in as the Prime Minister for the third consecutive term, PM Narendra Modi on Monday signed the first file authorising release of 17th installment of PM Kisan Nidhi. This will benefit 9.3 crore farmers and distribute around Rs 20,000 crore.

After signing the first file in his third, PM Modi said “Ours is a Government fully committed to Kisan Kalyan. It is therefore fitting that the first file signed on taking charge is related to farmer welfare. We want to keep working even more for the farmers and the agriculture sector in the times to come.”


First Decision In Third Term

The first decision of the newly-formed government reflects its commitment towards farmer welfare.


Narendra Modi took the oath of the Prime Minister of India for record third term on Sunday at the Rashtrapati Bhawan in a grand ceremony which was attended by several world leaders, including Maldives President Mohamed Muizzu and Bangladesh PM Sheikh Hasina, among others.

President Droupadi Murmu administered the oath of office to PM Modi and his council of ministers.


PM Modi's previous two terms have been characterized by key initiatives such as Ayushman Bharat, Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana, Housing for All, Pradhan Mantri Shram Yogi Man Dhan Yojana, Ujjwala Yojana, PM Kisan Samman Nidhi, UDAN, and Make in India.

He has also focused on creating robust infrastructure, expediting pending projects, and promoting environmental conservation. 


PM Modi Takes Oath For Record Third Term

Narendra Modi was sworn in as Prime Minister of India on Sunday for third straight term, heading a 72-member Union Council of Ministers that put emphasis on continuity, youth and experience while also rewarding partners in the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance government.


Along with Modi, senior BJP leaders including Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman and S Jaishankar, all ministers in the Modi 2.0 cabinet, took oath as cabinet ministers at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

President Droupadi Murmu administered the oath of secrecy and office to Modi and 30 Cabinet ministers, five Ministers of State with Independent charge, and 36 Ministers of State. Portfolios of the new ministers is yet to be announced.


There were bugles, ceremonial guards, flowers and all the trappings of a grand spectacle at the oath taking ceremony at the forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan that lasted 155 minutes. Nearly 9,000 people from all walks of life were estimated to be present for the grand event that began at 7.15 pm.

"This team of ministers is a great blend of youth and experience; we will leave no stone unturned in improving people's lives," Modi posted on X shortly after the swearing-in ceremony.


Published June 10th, 2024 at 11:48 IST