Updated June 7th, 2024 at 21:35 IST

Section 144 Imposed In Delhi as PM Modi Set to Take Oath for Third Term

Delhi police announced on Friday that all types of drones, paragliding, parajumping, and other remotely operated devices are prohibited as Section 144 imposed.

Delhi declared no-flying zone from June 9-10 | Image:PTI

New Delhi: Delhi Police has imposed prohibitory orders and declared the national capital no-flying zone as Narendra Modi will take oath as the prime minister for third term on June 9, according to an order issued by the Police Commissioner Sanjay Arora on Friday.

The prohibitory orders will remain imposed for two days, June 9 and 10, it said.


"It has been reported that certain criminal, anti-social elements or terrorists inimical to India may pose a threat to the safety of the general public, dignitaries and vital installations," Arora said in the order.

He further said, "In exercise of the power conferred upon me by section 144 of the CrPC prohibiting flying of sub-conventional aerial platforms like para gliders, para-motors, hang gliders, UAVs, UASs, microlight aircraft, remotely piloted aircraft, hot air balloons, small size powered aircraft, quadcopters or even by para jumping from aircraft etc over Delhi during the swearing-in ceremony and doing shall be punishable u/s 188 of the Indian Penal Code." As the notice cannot be served individually on all concerned, the order is, hereby, passed exparte, it said.


This restrictions will come into force on June 9 and stay till June 10, the order said. 


(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by Republic and is published from a syndicated feed.) 


Published June 7th, 2024 at 21:35 IST