Updated December 24th, 2023 at 23:29 IST

This metro station to get triple interchange connecting Yellow, Pink & Magenta Line! Details inside

Azadpur station in northeast Delhi is all set to become a triple exchange point.

Reported by: Aaquil Jameel
दिल्ली मेट्रो | Image:PTI

In good news for Delhi Metro commuters, Azadpur station in northeast Delhi is all set to become a triple exchange point. Following this, the aforementioned metro station i.e. Azadpur will connect with the Yellow Line, Pink Line and the upcoming Phase IV RK Ashram Marg – Janakpuri West metro corridor. This move will ease Delhi metro commuters' woes. Before Azadpur, Kashmiri Gate metro station had a triple exchange point.  

At present, commuters on the Azadpur station Metro line can interchange stations for the Delhi Metro Yellow line (from Samaypur Badli to Huda City Centre) as well as the Pink line (from Majlis Park to Shiv Vihar). 


What is a triple exchange point?

The term triple exchange point means that the three lines of the Delhi Metro will meet at one metro station. Through this facility, passengers can easily exchange trains for different routes.


After Kashmere Gate, the Azadpur metro station on Delhi Metro's Yellow Line network will become the second triple interchange facility of the mass rapid transit system  

Ease for passengers 


Following this line, metro connectivity for people in Azadpur and peripheral areas such as Sadar Bazar, Pulbangash, Ghanta Ghar and Derawala Nagar through the Azadpur Metro Station will be heavily benefitted. 

Areas such as Pitampura, Mangolpuri, Madhuban Chowk, Peera Garhi and Janakpuri will be connected with the new station. This new metro link is expected to ease the road congestion on these routes. The length of the RK Ashram Marg-Janakpuri West corridor will be 28.92 km.   


As per estimates, nearly 30,000 new passengers are expected to use the link when it opens for the public. Currently, Azadpur Metro Station caters to around 15,000 passengers per day.


Published December 24th, 2023 at 23:29 IST