IND Vs WI: BCCI Announces Squad For First Two ODIs; Rishabh Pant Gets Call-up, Virat Kohli Returns As Skipper

Cricket News

The Board of Control of India on Thursday announced its 14-member squad for the first two ODIs against West Indies.

Written By Dylan Dsouza | Mumbai | Updated On:

The Board of Control of India (BCCI) on Thursday announced its 14-member squad for the first two ODIs against West Indies. The ODI series starting from October 21 is predicted to be one-sided affair given that the visitors have historically struggled in the subcontinent.

Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma, who were rested for the Test series, will be back in ODI squad. The opening batsmen will look to pick up from their outstanding form they showcased during the 2018 Asia Cup.

In a bold move, the selectors have decided to bring in Rishabh Pant, who has impressed with a series of consistent performances lately. His arrival means Dinesh Karthik will have to make way, with MS Dhoni donning the gloves behind the stumps. If picked, Rishabh Pant could be set to make his debut in the ODI format for India.

Meanwhile, pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have been rested, after a hectic Asia Cup tournament and taking into consideration the series against Australia next month and the upcoming 2019 World Cup.

While, injuries to Hardik Pandya and Kedhar Jadhav meant that they where were not considered for selection and are set to miss the ODI series against West Indies. Hardik Pandya was forced out of the Asia Cup after a back injury, Kedhar Jadhav remains hopeful of making a comeback in the third ODI.

After impressing in the Asia Cup with this brilliant showing, Khaleel Ahmed retains his spot, while Mohammed Shami and Shardul Thakur will be tested for the role of backup to India's top pace bowlers Bhuveshwar and Bumrah. Also, all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja who had replaced Hardik Pandya at the Asia Cup, gets another ODI lifeline by the selectors.

KL Rahul and Amabti Rayudu also return back to squad, and they will be looking to slot in the Indian middle order along with MS Dhoni. With Virat Kohli returning back to the ODI squad, he will be leading the side, while Rohit Sharma will be his deputy for the series.

Here's the full squad:

Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk),Rishabh Pant, R Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Khaleel Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, KL Rahul

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water