New Zealand Vs India: ICC Knockout Trophy 2000, This Day, That Year

Cricket News

New Zealand beat India in Nairobi winning ICC Knockout Trophy in 2000, securing their first and only major ICC trophy with Saurav Ganguly leading from the front

Written By Sujay Chakraborty | Mumbai | Updated On:
New Zealand

On this day October 15 back in 2000, New Zealand beat India in the ICC Knockout Trophy, now known as the ICC Champions Trophy, in Nairobi Kenya. The tournament saw India impress in every game barring the finals as they made their way to the finals, which they ultimately lost ultimately after being in a promising position and being the better side for much of the game.

Also read | As ICC Readmits Nepal, Skipper Paras Khadka Steps Down; Explains Why

Journey to the final

India beat the hosts Kenya in the pre-quarter-finals, beating Australia and South Africa along the way to the final. Yuvraj Singh and Sourav Ganguly lead the charge against Australia and South Africa respectively. The latter scoring an unbeaten 141 against South Africa. New Zealand, on the other hand, defeated Zimbabwe in the quarter-finals, following a win over Pakistan in the semi-finals. They topped it up with a win over India in the finals. This was the first and to date, the only ICC event won by New Zealand. Roger Twose scored two fifties along the way for the Black Caps.

Also read | Ricky Ponting Weighs In On Demand For Steve Smith To Captain Australia

The game itself

New Zealand won the toss and elected to field. The Indian openers gave a superb start to their team and put a brilliant partnership of 141, their middle order, however, could not take any advantage of the start given by their openers and finished the innings scoring 264 runs and losing 6 wickets in their 50 overs. Ganguly's golden run in the tournament continued as he yet again scored a brilliant century scoring 117 runs from 130 balls. New Zealand innings yet again did not start well as they lost their two wickets inside 6 overs for the score of 37, and later reduced to 132/5 but then, Chris Cairns and Chris Harris put a brilliant partnership of 122 runs, which helped them to win their first major ICC trophy. 

Ganguly finished the series with 348 runs leading the scoring charts while Prasad took 8 wickets leading the bowling charts.

Also read | Cricket Prize Money Parity For Aussie Women's T20 Team

Also read | BCCI President Sourav Ganguly Talks About The ICC And Cricket In India

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water