There were plenty of standout moments during the clash between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Saturday. They included RCB skipper Virat Kohli's lofted shot for a six, Manish Pandey's lucky escape against Yuzvendra Chahal while trying to work the ball towards mid-wicket. Apart from all this, there was yet another moment. But this was not a moment to remember as it created a lot of confusion.
It happened in the eighth over of SRH's innings which was bowled by Washington Sundar and Manish Pandey was on strike. On the fifth delivery, Sundar bowled a simple and Pandey attempted to take him to the cleaners, but he did not time the ball nicely and was holed out by Shimron Hetmyer. However, the West Indian was unsure about whether he had taken the catch cleanly or not and the on-field umpires referred this to the third umpire. However, the soft signal was out. The third umpire took some time and cross-checked whether Hetmyer had held the ball firmly in his fingers after taking the catch or had the ball hit the ground. Finally, the decision went in favour of the fielder as Pandey walked back to the dugout. Hetmyer was then seen celebrating in a unique style while skipper Virat Kohli celebrated by pumping both his fists before carrying out some RCB celebrations.
The video of Hetmyer's catch was posted on Twitter. Watch it here.
This is what the netizens had to say about Hetmyer's catch. Some said that it was not out and believed that the ball had clearly hit the ground.
While there were others who believed that it was a clean catch.
Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by four wickets in the final over. By the virtue of this win, RCB not only ended their disappointing campaign on a high but have also played a perfect spoilsport to SRH's playoff hopes. The 2016 winners should now hope that the two-time winner Kolkata Knight Riders lose their final group game against Mumbai Indians in order to seal a playoff berth.