One of the best-known umpires in the world has commented on the controversial 6-run overthrow that happened during the World Cup final between England and New Zealand.
The incident had occurred on the third-last ball of England's innings, with the side then requiring nine runs to win from three balls. Stokes heaved a grounded shot and aimed to run for two. As the ball came in towards the end at which he was running, he dived to make it into the crease, and as he did so, the ball his bat, cannoning off to head to the boundary for four. The umpire signalled that it had been six runs. England eventually tied New Zealand's score, at which point the final went into a super over.
Australian Simon Taufel who is also a member of the MCC laws sub-committee has said that the umpires made a serious mistake by awarding England six runs instead of five when the throw hit Stokes' bat. Taufel who is a five-time awardee of the ICC’s Umpire of the Year title said that the umpires made an 'error of judgment' while applying MCC laws by allowing England an extra run and keeping Stokes on strike.
Speaking to the media he said England should have been awarded five runs and not six. He said the umpires made a "clear mistake" and theirs was "an error of judgment". But he also defended the umpires saying that "in the heat of the moment", they thought there was a good chance the batsmen had crossed at the instant of throw but added that the TV replays showed otherwise.
He also said that the batsman should have swapped sides for the next ball, meaning they should have gone back to the side of their last completed run at the moment of the throw. This would have meant that England would have needed four runs from the last two balls than three runs.
Taufel also praised the umpires Kumar Dharmasena and Marais Erasmus. He said that the umpires faced the difficulty of having to watch the batsmen completing the runs, shift focus and watch the ball being picked up and released.
He acknowledged that the decision by the empires "influenced the game" but also said that it did not cost the match to New Zealand.
Rule 19.8: Overthrow or willful act of fielder
If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the willful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be
— any runs for penalties awarded to either side
— and the allowance for the boundary
— and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.