PKL: Bengal Warriors Beat U Mumba 37-35 To Seal Place In Final

Kabaddi News

Bengal Warriors secured a place in the PKL 2019 finals after edging past U Mumba with a 37-35 win on Wednesday, October 16 at the EKA Arena by TransStadia.

Written By Devika Pawar | Mumbai | Updated On:

Bengal Warriors defeated U Mumba in a close contest and advanced to the semi-finals on Wednesday, October 16. The match took place at the EKA Arena by TransStadia, Ahmedabad (20:30 IST). Despite U Mumba’s massive comeback after a four-point Super Raid by Ajinkya Kapre, Bengal Warriors managed to defend their lead. Sukesh Hegde was Bengal’s top scores with eight raid points.

Also read | PKL 2019: Bengaluru Bulls Reach Semi-finals After A 48-45 Tiebreaker

PKL 2019 semi-finals: Bengal Warriors vs U Mumba match report

As neither team scored after the first few raids, the match had a slow start. The score was being levelled constantly as both teams carried out successful raids and tackles. With eight minutes left to go, Bengal Warriors gained a lead after Hegde’s two-point raid. Mohammad Nabibakhsh executed some back-to-back raids, increasing their advantage to 14-10 after inflicting an all-out on U Mumba. After a few more raids, the first half ended with an 18-12 advantage to Bengal Warriors.

Also read | PKL 2019: U Mumba Beat Haryana Steelers To Advance To Semi-finals

U Mumba managed to reduce the score in the second half, but a four-point super raid in Bengal Warriors’ favour did not let that happen. After a second all-out, Bengal Warriors had a 30-20 lead. It was Kapre’s four-point Super Raid that brought U Mumba back into the game, reducing the score difference to four. U Mumba levelled the score to 35-35 after an all-out and successful raid and tackle. However, Jeeva Kumar tackled Arjun Deshwal in the final raid, giving Bengal Warriors a 37-35 victory over U Mumba.

Also read | Dabang Delhi Beat Bengaluru Bulls To Enter PKL Final

PKL 2019 semi-finals: Bengal Warriors vs U Mumba top performers

Bengal Warriors –

  • Best Raider – Sukesh Hegde (8 Raid Points)
  • Best Defender – Rinku Narwal (4 Tackle Points)
  • U Mumba –

  • Best Raider – Abhishek Singh (11 Raid Points)
  • Best Defender – Surinder Singh (4 Tackle Points)

Also read | PKL 2019: Prize Money And Playoffs Schedule Revealed

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water