Updated January 5th, 2024 at 12:47 IST

T20 World Cup 2024: India again pitted with arch-rivals Pakistan, all groups and teams revealed

The 2024 T20 World Cup draw has reportedly been made public. The tournament is scheduled to take place in the US and the West Indies.

Pavitra Shome
India beat Pakistan in ODI World Cup 2023
India beat Pakistan in ODI World Cup 2023 | Image:AP

The ninth edition of the T20 World Cup is all set to take place in June, with West Indies and the United States of America set to co-host the matches. The tournament is still months away, but the anticipation is gradually growing. A total of 20 teams will participate in the event and will be divided into four groups ahead of the competition. A big update has come to light as groups have been drawn for the T20 World Cup.

3 things you need to know

  • India, Australia, Pakistan, and 17 other teams will take part in the T20 World Cup
  • Team India is one of the top choices to win the T20WC
  • West Indies and the US will be co-hosting the tournament this year

Also Read: David Warner finally reunited with his baggy green, backpack mysteriously recovered from team hotel


India drawn with Pakistan, AUS with ENG as Groups for T20 WC reportedly revealed 

Ahead of the T20 World Cup in the West Indies and USA, reports have shared a new update on the possible groups that have been drawn. As per The Telegraph UK, 20 teams will be pitted in four groups, and they will qualify further in the competition over their rankings. The format has been distributed to the countries that will take part in the tournament, and assuming there will be no last-minute alterations, they will make a formal announcement soon.


2024 T20 World Cup Groups

  • Group A

India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA.

  • Group B

England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman.

  • Group C

New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea.

  • Group D

South Africa, SL, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal.  

Team India players during the ODI World Cup semifinal vs New Zealand | Image: AP

Also Read: 'Consistently is all that’s required': Bumrah garners plaudits from a legendary cricket player


More details emerged for T20 World Cup location, Super Eight draw 

The report adds that the top two teams of each group will move forward in the Super Eights, and that draw will be revealed at the same time as the pool stage. Pre-tournament seedings will decide the Super Eights draw, irrespective of which teams place first or second in their respective groupings.


Moreover, the Group A and Group B matches will be hosted in a specific country. The group that has India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada and US will play all of their matches in the States. On the other hand, the group that has England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland and Oman will play all their matches in the Caribbean country.


Published January 5th, 2024 at 10:04 IST

Your Voice. Now Direct.

Send us your views, we’ll publish them. This section is moderated.

Whatsapp logo