Updated October 25th, 2019 at 20:27 IST

ISL: Celebrities associated with clubs in the Hero Indian Super League

Rana Daggubati has become the co-owner of Hyderabad FC. He joins the league of stars associated with the Hero Indan Super League this season.

Reported by: Colin DCunha
| Image:self

Rana Daggubati has become the latest star to be associated with the Hero Indian Super League (ISL). The Baahubali star has become the co-owner of ISL newcomers, Hyderabad FC. In a statement, Daggubati said that since Hyderabad has a great legacy with sport, this is Hyderabad's chance to rekindle that legacy with an entry into the ISL. Here is a look at the other stars associated with the ISL this season. 

Also Read | Rana Daggubati Joins Hyderabad FC As Co-owner

Ranbir Kapoor

Ranbir Kapoor shares the ownership of last season's semi-finalists, Mumbai City FC. The Bollywood star, however, is open to diluting his stake in the club. This is because Ranbir Kapoor and co-owner Bimal Parekh are looking to tie up with an international club in order to provide some much-needed impetus into The Islanders' ISL hopes. Interestingly, there have been rumours of Manchester City's interest in investing in Mumbai City FC.

Also Read | ISL: Kerala Blasters FC Vs Mumbai City FC Highlights & Match Result

Abhishek Bachchan

Bachchan Jr loves sports, that much is for certain. Abhishek Bachchan is the co-owner of former ISL winners Chennaiyin FC. Chennaiyin FC won the ISL title in the 2015 season as well as the 2017-18 season. Abhishek Bachchan is also the owner of the Pro Kabaddi League 2014 winning franchise, Jaipur Pink Panthers.

John Abraham

John Abraham starred in Bollywood's version of Goal: The Dream Begins. His venture, however, was known as Dhan Dhana Dhan Goal. John Abraham is the majority owner of NorthEast United FC, who are also known as the 'Highlanders'. 

Also Read | ISL: Mumbai City Coach Jorge Costa Admits To 'happy' Selection Problem


The South Indian actor-turned-politician is one of the owners of the Kerala Blasters FC. The Blasters finished runners up in the ISL in 2014 as well as the 2016 season. They have, however, started the 2019-20 season well, after a win over ATK in their opening fixture followed by a draw at home to Ranbir Kapoor's Mumbai City FC.

Also Read | ISL: ATK Seek First Points Vs Hyderabad FC

Sourav Ganguly

If it's a major sport in Kolkata, it's only fitting that Sourav Ganguly is involved. The former captain of the Indian cricket team is one of the four owners of the ATK side in the ISL. ATK won the ISL in the 2014 and 2016 season, securing wins over Chiranjeevi's Kerala Blasters on both occasions. 


Published October 25th, 2019 at 11:29 IST