Andhra Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

I-News Exit Poll For Andhra Pradesh Assembly Election: Jagan Mohan Reddy And YSRCP Projected To Defeat Chandrababu Naidu And TDP

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:

Assembly Elections for the state of Andhra Pradesh took place concurrently with the first phase of the Lok Sabha polls on April 11, to decide the composition of the 175-seat 15th Legislative Assembly.

In a do-or-die battle for the incumbent Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu and his main rival Y S Jaganmohan Reddy, a first-of-its-kind exit polls conducted by i-Pulse in collaboration with I-News Network covering all 175 constituencies in the state has projected clear majority for Jagan's YSR Congress party with an estimated range of 110-120 seats. On the other hand, the ruling Naidu-led TDP (Telugu Desam Party) is projected for a massive loss with a seat-share range of 55-62, which is significantly lower than its 2014 Legislative Assembly election performance of 103 seats. In 2014, the YSR Congress Party had emerged as the second-largest party in the state with 66 seats in the assembly. Jana Sena Party is likely to get an estimated 0-3 seats in the state. 

Notably, TDP is not openly aligning with any national or regional like-minded parties in the state for the first time since its inception - something that may have taken a toll on its chances in the 2019 elections if the exit poll is to be believed.

The i-News survey has been conducted using the data collected from over 50,000 voters across 175 assembly constituencies.

Here are the Exit Poll projections for Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly:

Exit Poll projections for Andhra Pradesh Lok Sabha seats:

According to exit poll for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Jagan's YSR Congress is going to get a decisive mandate to form the next government in Andhra Pradesh, leaving the TDP to a single digit number. As per the predicted figure, the YSRCP is projected to make massive inroads in TDP's territory with an estimated seat-share of 19-21 seats, while the ruling TDP is projected for big defeat with an estimated seat share between 4-6 out of the total 25 seats in the Parliament.

In Andhra Pradesh, a little over 3.93 crore voters were eligible to decide the fortunes of 319 candidates for Lok Sabha seats and 2,118 candidates for Assembly polls. Polling in 25 Lok Sabha constituencies in Andhra Pradesh took place on April 11 in the first phase of Lok Sabha elections. 

Chandrababu Naidu, YSRCP president YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, Naidu's son Nara Lokesh, Naidu's brother-in-law and actor N Balakrishna and state Congress chief Raghuveera Reddy are few of the prominent candidates giving a neck to neck fight in the state.

Republic Double Exit Poll For Andhra Pradesh: Down-to-the-wire Contest Likely As Jan Ki Baat Projects YSRCP And Jagan's Success, CVoter Says Naidu & TDP May Come Out On Top

The vote counting for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls will be held on May 23. Join Arnab on Republic Media Network for non-stop coverage of the sensational conclusion to the general elections. 


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath