Andhra Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

YSRCP Runs Rampant Over TDP In Andhra Pradesh Assembly Elections, Jagan Mohan Reddy Likely To Take Oath As Chief Minister On May 30

Written By Apoorva Rao | Mumbai | Published:


  • YS Jagan Mohan Reddy's YSR Congress Party is leading in the assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh in 149 out of 175 seats currently
  • Current CM Chandrababu Naidu is likely to resign and Jagan Mohan Reddy is likely to take oath as Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister on May 30
  • Naidu's TDP has also been decimated in the Lok Sabha elections

YS Jaganmohan Reddy's YSR Congress Party is leading in the assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh and appears all set to form the next government in the state. 

Reddy's YSRCP is leading in 149 seats out of 175 seats whereas N Chandrababu Naidu's Telugu Desam Party is leading in a paltry 25 seats and the Jana Sena party is leading in only one seat.

Sources have said that Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu is likely to tender his resignation later on Thursday.

YS Jaganmohan Reddy will take oath as Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister on May 30, said a senior leader from YSRCP Ummareddy Venkateswarlu.  As per sources, Reddy will take the oath at Tarakarama stadium in Tirupati . 

If that does indeed come to pass, it would entail a breakaway from tradition as it would be only the second time that a Chief Minister is taking oath outside the Raj Bhavan. In 2014, Chandrababu Naidu took oath in the Nagarjuna University in Vijayawada.

READ | 2019 Lok Sabha Election Results LIVE Updates: Vote-counting For 2019 Indian General Elections, Trends For All 542 Constituencies And Non-stop Analysis From Republic TV And Arnab Goswami Here As India Elects A New Government

In 2014, the YSR Congress Party had emerged as the second-largest party in the state with 66 seats in the assembly. Jana Sena Party is likely to get an estimated 0-3 seats in the state.  

In a first-of-its-kind exit poll conducted by i-Pulse in collaboration with I-News Network covering all 175 constituencies in the state has projected clear majority for Jagan's YSR Congress party with an estimated range of 110-120 seats. On the other hand, the ruling Naidu-led TDP (Telugu Desam Party) is projected for a massive loss with a seat-share range of 55-62, which is significantly lower than its 2014 Legislative Assembly election performance of 103 seats. 

The election results on Thursday came as a huge blow to Chandrababu Naidu as his party also appears set to be similarly decimated in the Lok Sabha elections, meaning that his gamble of breaking away from the NDA and becoming one of PM Modi's fiercest critics has ended in abject failure.

READ | I-News Exit Poll For Andhra Pradesh Assembly Election: Jagan Mohan Reddy And YSRCP Projected To Defeat Chandrababu Naidu And TDP

Watch Arnab Live on Republic Media Network here.


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath