Himachal Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results For Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh: BJP's Sitting MP Anurag Thakur Beats Congress' Ram Lal Thakur By A Landslide

Written By Suchitra Karthikeyan | Mumbai | Published:

Hamirpur faced a unique battle where former BCCI chief Anurag Thakur and BJP leader fought for his fourth re-election bid at the Lok Sabha polls against Congress' Bilaspur MLA Ram Lal Thakur - where BJP's Anurag Singh Thakur won by a margin of 4,01,692 votes, as of 10:25 PM

Poll campaign issues:

What makes Hamirpur unique is that this Himachal Pradesh province is majorly devoid of communal strife, caste politics but faces a major regional divide.

The battle Anurag Thakur faced was more against - his fellow BJP leaders who feared that Thakur's fourth win would put Union Minister J P Nadda on a backfoot as a Chief Ministerial candidate, favouring Anurag Thakur as the frontrunner - rather than his Congress rival who has lost the Lok Sabha polls thrice.

The big regional crisis is Bilaspur which falls under the Hamirpur constituency, where anti-Modi sentiment is strong. Voters in Bilaspur have often complained against the Modi government for not providing alternate land to the villagers who owned the properties where the Pong Dam and the Bhakra dam projects have come up. This had played in favour of Ram Lal Thakur, who is popular in Bilaspur.

While the rest of Hamirpur has been quite content with Anurag Thakur and his father -  former Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal - Bilaspur has always felt their neglect due to strained relations between Dhumal and Nadda who was a former MLA of Bilaspur.

WATCH: "Country Has Voted One-sidedly For PM Modi," Says BJP's Hamirpur Candidate Anurag Thakur As NDA Crosses 300-seat Leads Mark In 2019 Polls

Historical trend:

Hamirpur has been held by BJP since 1998, with the Thakur father-son duo winning it from 2007-2014. 

In 2014, Anurag Singh Thakur beat Congress' Rajinder Singh Rana by a thumping 4,48,035 votes which was 53.61% of the total votes. In the previous two elections too, Thakur garnered more than 50% of the votes.

Adding to this, in 2017, BJP comfortably won the 2017 Assembly polls but suffered embarrassment when their Chief Ministerial candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal lost from the Sujanpur Assembly constituency, which again falls under Hamirpur. 

Hamirpur polled in the final phase of the Lok Sabha polls on May 19. 


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath