Indian General Elections

'TOGETHER WE...': Set For A Second Term, PM Modi Issues His First Tweet As NDA Storms To Victory In The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has issued his first tweet of triumph amid the NDA's stunning march towards victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, with the coalition leading in a mammoth 348 seats versus the UPA's 97 at the time of publishing.

Taking to the social media platform he has used so effectively during his long election campaign, the Prime Minister, who is clearly now set for a second five-year-term term, has written a message of progress, unity and victory for the whole country.

In the tweet, he further wrote, "Sabka saath, sabka vikas, sabka vishwas = Vijayi Bharat" adding "Together we grow. Together we prosper. Together we will build a strong and inclusive India, with the #VijayiBharat" 

Read here:

As per sources, PM Modi is likely to visit his constituency Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh on May 29. He is also all set to better his own stupendous victory margin from 2014 in the constituency.

WATCH: BJP Supporters In Perth Cheer For Narendra Modi Rejoicing Over The Party's Impending Victory In The Lok Sabha 2019 Elections

Just minutes before the Prime Minister tweeted, BJP chief Amit Shah also issued a short statement extending his gratitude towards the people of India, saying "Phir ek baar Modi sarkar (Once again, Modi government):

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday led BJP and its allies towards what looks set to be a resounding victory for a second term in office. At the time of publishing (3:02 PM), BJP was leading in 300 of the 542 Lok Sabha seats that went to polls in seven phases, while the Congress Party stuck at 49 seats, according to the trends by the Election Commission. 

The Prime Minister himself is leading in Varanasi with a margin of over 3.3 lakh votes while party president Amit Shah was ahead in Gandhinagar in their home state of Gujarat by over 5 lakh votes.

The counting of votes began at 8 am on May 23 in each of the 542 constituencies. With high-pitched and intense election campaigning, the 2019 polls spanned seven phases across two months, ended on May 19. 

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results LIVE Updates: Vote-counting For 2019 Indian General Elections, Trends For All 542 Constituencies And Non-stop Analysis From Republic TV And Arnab Goswami Here As India Elects A New Government

Join Arnab on Republic Media Network for non-stop coverage of the sensational conclusion to the general elections here.