Jammu and Kashmir Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results: PDP Chief Mehbooba Mufti Congratulates PM Modi & BJP Over 'historic Mandate'; Says "time For Congress To Get An Amit Shah"

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:


  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led NDA has stormed ahead with leads in 350 seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections at the time of publishing
  • PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti took to Twitter and congratulated PM Modi, BJP and its allies for the 'historic mandate'. She also reserved praise for Amit Shah

With the counting of votes underway for the 542 Lok Sabha seats which went to polls in the 2019 elections on May 23, Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led NDA government has stormed ahead in 350 leads, as per the latest trends. 

PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti, who is trailing against National Conference's Hasnain Masoodi (2:02 PM) from Jammu and Kashmir's Anantnag constituency, took to Twitter and congratulated PM Modi, BJP and its allies for the "historic mandate". She added that "today surely belongs to BJP and its allies", in her tweet.

However, deleting the tweet minutes after posting it, Mehbooba Mufti posted the tweet again after adding a new and gracious statement to her previous tweet. In what can only be considered paise for BJP chief Amit Shah for his efforts for the party's victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections and also a jibe at the Congress' dismal performance, the former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister added that it is "time for Congress to get an Amit Shah".

As per the trends by the Election Commission (2:09), NDA and National Conference are having a neck-to-neck lead in Jammu and Kashmir with both parties leading in three seats each in the state. Mehbooba Mufti is contesting against NC candidate HC judge Justice Hasnain Masoodi. The Congress has fielded its state chief GA Mir, who lost Dooru assembly constituency to Mehbooba's uncle in 2014. BJP, not exactly a major player in Anantnag, has fielded Sofi Youssef. 

In the 2014 General elections, J&K had a voter turnout of 49.5% in all phases, in which the BJP won 3 seats, while the PDP won 3 seats and the UPA won no seat. Similar results were witnessed in the assembly elections with the BJP and PDP going on to form a government under the Chief Ministership of the late Mufti Muhammad Sayeed. Following his demise, his daughter Mehbooba Mufti took over the position but the alliance between the two parties ended in acrimony in mid 2018 following which Governor's rule was applied in the state.

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results | 25 Biggest Battles LIVE Updates: Amethi, Varanasi, Begusarai, East Delhi, Wayanad, South Mumbai And More

Join Arnab on Republic Media Network for non-stop coverage of the sensational conclusion to the general elections here.