Jammu and Kashmir Lok Sabha Elections

"Happy To Be Blocked By A Callous Individual": Gautam Gambhir Isn't Letting Mehbooba Mufti Blocking Him End Their Fierce Back-and-forth

Written By Daamini Sharma | Mumbai | Published:

Former Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir and former Jammu & Kashmir chief minister Mehbooba Mufti were locked in a Twitter battle after the People’s Democratic Party chief tweeted that if Article 370 of the Constitution is scrapped, it would end the association of J&K with India.

She followed her tweet with a couplet, “Na samjho gay tou mit jaouge aye Hindustan walo. Tumhari dastaan tak bhi na hogi dastaano main.” The couplet, when translated in English, roughly means: Hey, people of Hindustan, you will die if you don’t understand even now, and your memory too would be wiped out from history.

Gambhir, who has recently joined the Bharatiya Janata Party, tweeted in reply, “This is India, not a stain like you that can be wiped out.”

Read: PDP Chief Mehbooba Mufti 'blocks' BJP's Gautam Gambhir On Twitter After Blistering Exchange Over Article 370

Mufti retorted, terming Gambhir's cricketing career ‘abysmal’. Then she went on to block the cricketer-turned-politician on Twitter.

Replying to her tweet, Gambhir wrote: "happy to be blocked by a callous individual" and then went on to ask a counter-question.

On Monday, Mehbooba Mufti took a jibe at BJP after a Public Interest Litigation was moved in Delhi High Court to sought direction to the Election Commission of India to ban Jammu and Kashmir politicians Farooq Abdullah, Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti from participating in the ensuing Lok Sabha Elections as their "statements are against the Indian constitution". The plea is yet to come up for hearing.




Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath