Jammu and Kashmir Lok Sabha Elections

PDP Chief Mehbooba Mufti 'blocks' BJP's Gautam Gambhir On Twitter After Blistering Exchange Over Article 370

Written By Daamini Sharma | Mumbai | Published:

Two days before the first phase of Lok Sabha election, PDP' chief Mehbooba Mufti indulges in a heated verbal spat with BJP's newly inducted cricketer-turned-politician Gautam Gambhir on Twitter. 

On Monday, Mehbooba Mufti took a jibe at BJP after a Public Interest Litigation was moved in Delhi High Court to sought direction to the Election Commission of India to ban Jammu and Kashmir politicians Farooq Abdullah, Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti from participating in the ensuing Lok Sabha Elections as their "statements are against the Indian constitution".

Taking to Twitter she wrote: "Why waste time in court. Wait for BJP to scrap Article 370. It will automatically debar us from fighting elections since Indian constitution won’t be applicable to J&K anymore". 

Reacting to her tweet, Gautam Gambhir wrote back: "Yeh Bharat hai. Koi aap jaia dhabba nahi jo mit jayega

"This is India. Not a blot like you which will get rubbed off".

After a gap of almost 10 hours, Mehbooba Mufti mounted a personal attack on Gautam Gambhir and said:

Giving a befitting reply, Gautam said that her comments "shows the lack of depth in personality".

Mehbooba Mufti then blocked Gautam Gambhir" on Twitter.

Read: Mehbooba Mufti Makes Another Secessionist Remark, Uses Israel-Palestine 'occupying Force' Analogy To Provoke Over Article 370

This twitter spat comes after a petition filed by an advocate alleged that the statements given by the Mehbooba Mufti, Omar Abdullah and Farooq Abdullah were against the Constitution, adding that the court or the ECI should bar or impose conditions on their entry into the general elections. The plea is yet to come up for hearing.

Seven-phase Lok Sabha polls are set to begin on April 11 and will go on till May 19. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath