Odisha Lok Sabha Elections

BJD Chief Naveen Patnaik Is The Richest Among 244 Candidates Contesting Odisha Assembly Elections, BJP Candidate Stands Second. Details Inside

Written By Daamini Sharma | Mumbai | Published:

Ruling BJD president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is the richest among the 244 candidates contesting the assembly elections, in the 2nd phase, scheduled on April 18, a report released by Odisha Election Watch said on Monday.

The Odisha Election Watch is a part of the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR).

"Of the 244 candidates in the fray for the 35 assembly segments, 70 are crorepatis," said Odisha Election Watch Convenor Ranjan Mohanty, adding that 13 candidates have assets worth Rs. 5 crore and above, and 24 others have assets between Rs. 2 crore and Rs. 5 crore.

While Mr Patnaik, who is contesting from two assembly segments, Hinjili and Bijepur, tops the list of rich candidates with total assets worth Rs. 63 crore, BJP candidate KV Singhdeo contesting from Patnagarh segment in Bolangir district stands second with total assets worth Rs. 37 crore, the report said.

BJD's Jharsuguda candidate, Naba Kishore Das, is in the third place with total assets worth Rs. 33 crore, it said.

Mr Das is followed by BJD candidate Saroj Kumar Meher of Patnagarh seat with total assets worth Rs. 31 crore.

WATCH | 2019 Lok Sabha Elections: In Odisha, All Eyes On Kalahandi And Koraput With Three-way Battle In Store

Other rich candidates are BJP's Bijay Kumar Swain (Rs. 15 cr), BJD's Arkesh Narayan Singhdeo (Rs. 15 crore), BJD's Nandini Devi (Rs. 11 crore), BJP's Dinesh Jain (Rs. 8 cr), BJP's Pitamber Acharya (Rs. 7 crore) and BJD's Kishore Kumar Mohanty (Rs. 7 crore), the report added.

BSP candidate Narayan Versa contesting from Bhatli assembly segment only has Rs. 8,044.

Incidentally, KV Singhdeo's wife Sangeeta Singhdeo was also on the top of the list of candidates for the Lok Sabha with assets worth Rs. 37 crore.

Read: After 700 Artists' Anti-Modi Election Appeal, 907 Other Artists Begin Counter-campaign Seeking 'continuance Of PM Modi-led Government'. Full List Here

Of the 35 candidates contesting for five Lok Sabha seats in the second phase of the elections, 11 are crorepatis, he said.

(With inputs from PTI)


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath