Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results For Rampur, Uttar Pradesh: SP's Azam Khan Wins Against BJP's Jaya Prada

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:

If there is one constituency which has witnessed notably the most controversial, yet talked about battles in the politically crucial state of Uttar Pradesh then it is Rampur. The Lok Sabha constituency saw a bitter war of words between the two significant opponents - Samajwadi Party strongman Azam Khan and BJP's newly-inducted actor-turned-politician Jaya Prada.

In the high-profile battle for Rampur Lok Sabha seat, the final vote count suggests SP's Azam Khan victory with 52.71 percent votes against BJP's Jaya Prada who came second close with 42.34 percent votes. 

Rampur Lok Sabha seat is currently held by BJP’s sitting MP Nepal Singh who had won in 2014 polls by defeating SP’s Naseer Ahmed Khan, with a slender margin of 23 thousand votes. Witnessing a triangular battle this election between SP’s Azam Khan, BJP’s Jaya Prada and Congress’s Sanjay Kapoor in 2019, Rampur Lok Sabha constituency was won by  Jaya Prada in 2004 and 2009, however, on a Samajwadi Party ticket. But later, she fell out of favour with the party following her rift with Azam Khan, who first introduced the Bollywood celebrity to Rampur and played a key role in clinching her first win.

2019 Lok Sabha Elections Results: 'If God Wills My Victory, I Will Break Azam Khan's Arrogance,' Says Jaya Prada About Her Chances Of Winning In UP's Rampur Constituency

Rampur which went to polls in the third phase of the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on April 23 saw high-pitched campaigning by both Azam Khan and Jaya Prada for their parties, which later broke into massive controversies against the Samajwadi Party, after the ‘khaki underpants’ jibe by Khan against Prada. In the aftermath of the controversies, a war of words was triggered between Jaya Prada and Azam Khan, amidst which he was banned by the Election Commission from campaigning for 48 hours over his sexist jibes against his BJP contender.

Azam Khan has been nine-time MLA from Rampur and a cabinet minister in Akhilesh Yadav’s government with an eye for the Muslim votes for the Gathbandhan in Uttar Pradesh. Rampur Lok Sabha constituency comprises five Vidhan Sabha (legislative assembly) segments: Suar, Chamraua, Bilaspura, Rampur (Legislative assembly) and Milak.

READ | USA President Donald Trump Congratulates Narendra Modi On His ‘BIG Election Victory’, Exults, 'Great Things Are In Store For The US-India Partnership With The Return Of PM Modi At The Helm'