Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

List Of Samajwadi Party's Star Campaigners Out, Akhilesh Yadav To Contest From Azamgarh, Mulayam Singh Yadav's Name Missing

Written By Daamini Sharma | Mumbai | Published:

The Samajwadi Party announced its candidates for two Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh on Sunday. The list of candidates includes Samajwadi Party leader Akhilesh Yadav and Azam Khan. Akhilesh Yadav will contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections from Azamgarh - the parliamentary constituency of his father Mulayam Singh Yadav. On the other hand, senior SP leader Azam Khan will contest elections from Rampur constituency. 

Take a look:

SP patron Mulayam Singh Yadav had won from two seats in 2014 Lok Sabha polls – Mainpuri and Azamgarh. However, in 2019 Akhilesh Yadav will take up the Azamgarh constituency.

Read: INEXPLICABLE: After Being Openly Dumped By Mayawati And Akhilesh, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra Continues To Insist That Congress-SP-BSP Are In It Together

Earlier, Shivpal Yadav, chief of Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) (PSPL) on Saturday alleged that Samajwadi Party (SP) has compromised with its principles and is now selling party tickets for huge sum of money to "big people".

"Whom are they compromising with today? With those who have no knowledge about Samajwad... The ones who take in return for party tickets money - Rs. 10 crore, Rs. 15 crore, Rs.20 crore, Rs. 25 crore - from the big persons who can afford it," he said.

The former cabinet minister also alleged that those who truly follow the principle of "samajwad" are gradually being alienated.

Ahead of the Lok Sabha elections, Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) chief Shivpal Yadav on Tuesday formed a political front called Progressive Democratic Alliance (PDA), in collaboration with Peace Party, Krishna Patel's faction of Apna Dal, among others. He also announced his candidature from Firozabad Lok Sabha seat against his nephew Akshay Yadav.

There are 80 Lok Sabha seats at stake in Uttar Pradesh, polling for which will be held in all seven phases of the elections starting April 11.