Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

Samajwadi Party Sells Tickets For Crores, Alleges Shivpal Yadav

Written By Digital Desk | Mumbai | Published:

Shivpal Yadav, chief of Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) (PSPL) on Saturday alleged that Samajwadi Party (SP) has compromised with its principles and is now selling party tickets for huge sum of money to "big people".

"Whom are they compromising with today? With those who have no knowledge about Samajwad... The ones who take in return for party tickets money - Rs. 10 crore, Rs. 15 crore, Rs.20 crore, Rs. 25 crore - from the big persons who can afford it," he said.

The former cabinet minister also alleged that those who truly follow the principle of "samajwad" are gradually being alienated.

"Those who are Samajwadi cannot have such huge amount of money, so how can they contest elections and become public representatives? The Samajwadis are gradually being alienated from the party," said Mr Yadav.

WATCH: Samajwadi Party Takes On Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, Says She's Temple-hopping Because She's Nervous And Congress Is In Trouble

He said that his party PSPL's attempts to forge an alliance with the Congress party was blocked by leaders within the Congress party.

"People wanted an alliance between PSPL and the Congress to counter BJP. But some people within the Congress misled its top leadership and hence the alliance could not be formed," said Mr Yadav.

Ahead of the Lok Sabha elections, Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) chief Shivpal Yadav on Tuesday formed a political front called Progressive Democratic Alliance (PDA), in collaboration with Peace Party, Krishna Patel's faction of Apna Dal, among others. He also announced his candidature from Firozabad Lok Sabha seat against his nephew Akshay Yadav.

Read: INEXPLICABLE: After Being Openly Dumped By Mayawati And Akhilesh, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra Continues To Insist That Congress-SP-BSP Are In It Together

There are 80 Lok Sabha seats at stake in Uttar Pradesh, polling for which will be held in all seven phases of the elections starting April 11.

(With inputs from PTI)