Updated June 9th, 2024 at 00:12 IST

Decision on Odisha CM Likely After PM Modi’s Swearing-in Ceremony

A BJP leader confirmed that the BJP's parliamentary party is likely to select the next Odisha CM after PM Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony on Sunday.

Reported by: Digital Desk
BJP likely to select Odisha chief minister after PM Modi's oath-taking ceremony | Image:PTI

Bhubaneswar: The oath-taking ceremony for the Odisha Chief Minister has been scheduled for June 10 a day after the conclusion of Prime Minister designate Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan on June 9. However, the name of the next chief minister of Odisha has still not been revealed by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which is set to take over the new government in the state. A BJP leader confirmed that the BJP's parliamentary party is likely to select the chief minister of Odisha after Narendra Modi takes oath as the country's prime minister for the third term on Sunday.

After returning to the state from New Delhi on Saturday, Odisha BJP chief Manmohan Samal, when asked to reveal the name of next chief minister of the state, stated, "Wait for two more days."


BJP Won 78 of 147 Assembly Seats in Odisha

The BJP secured a majority in the elections by winning 78 of the 147-member Odisha assembly. Apart from the state assembly, the BJP won 20 of the 21 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha.


The parliamentary party of the BJP would select the chief minister at its meeting, Samal said, adding that he does not have any idea on the next chief minister of the state.

“I had gone to Delhi to attend a meeting to select the NDA’s parliamentary party leader and Lok Sabha leader. All newly elected MPs from the state were present there. We also attended other party programmes arranged in Delhi,” the Odisha BJP chief said at the airport here.


Samal also said he, as the president of the Odisha BJP, has been coordinating with all stakeholders in making arrangements for the oath-taking function.

The BJP leader claimed that its parliamentary party is yet to select the next Odisha CM.


On several requests by reporters, he said, “Wait for two more days and you will be informed about the party's decision on the new chief minister. There are highly experienced leaders of the party at the Centre and they will take the decision keeping the interest of the state in mind.” Asked whether he was in the race for the chief minister’s post, Samal said, “I am not...I am just executing whatever responsibility is assigned to me.” said Samal, who was defeated in Chandbali in the recently concluded Odisha assembly elections.

Several names such as Sambalpur MP and Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, Samal, former state BJP president and newly elected MLA from Patnagarh KV Singh Deo, tribal leader Mohan Majhi, who has been elected from Keonjhar seat, are doing rounds.


Pradhan is considered the BJP’s face in the state and he belongs to the OBC category, while Singh Deo is a five-time legislator and worked as minister in the Naveen Patnaik Council of Ministers for nine years between 2000 and 2009. During this period, the BJD-BJP coalition government ruled the state.

Though Samal was defeated in the assembly polls, his supporters claimed that Pushkar Singh Dhami lost the assembly election in Uttarakhand but was chosen as the CM.


During the election campaign in the state, Modi had said the party would make a "bhumi putra (son of soil)" the Odisha chief minister. 


Published June 9th, 2024 at 00:12 IST