Updated June 1st, 2024 at 09:37 IST

PM Eyes 3rd Term From Kashi, Queen Challenges Prince: 7 Hotseats in Last Phase of Lok Sabha Polls

13 seats each in UP and Punjab, 9 in West Bengal, 8 in Bihar, 6 in Odisha, 4 in HP, 3 in Jharkhand, and Chandigarh go to polls in 7th phase of Lok Sabha polls

Reported by: Apoorva Shukla
Voting underway on 57 seats in 8 states for last phase of Lok Sabha elections 2024 | Image:PTI/ Representational

New Delhi: Just 3 days are left for the big day as voting began for the last phase of Lok Sabha elections on Saturday, June 1, on 57 parliamentary constituencies. This is the final phase of Lok Sabha elections and results will be declared on June 4. In this phase, 13 seats each in Uttar Pradesh and Punjab, 9 in West Bengal, 8 in Bihar, 6 in Odisha, 4 in Himachal Pradesh, 3 in Jharkhand, and Chandigarh go to polls. 

Polling for the remaining 42 Assembly constituencies in Odisha and bypolls to six Assembly seats in Himachal Pradesh are also taking place simultaneously. The voting began at 7 am. Voters were seen standing in queues in front of polling booths since early in the morning among severe heatwave conditions in several parts of the country.


There are over ten seats in the last phase of Lok Sabha elections which are witnessing heated high stake battle. While Prime Minister Narendra Modi is eyeing a third term from Varanasi, actor-turned-politician Kangana Ranaut is challenging PWD minister in Himachal government Vikramaditya Singh in Mandi.

Here are the top 5 seats to watch out for in the last phase of Lok Sabha elections;

Varanasi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi is contesting from Varanasi Lok Sabha seat for the third time. He won the seat in both 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The Congress party has fielded Ajay Rai against the Prime Minister, who finished at third place in 2019. Ajay Rai was formerly a BJP member, but left in 2007. He later joined the BJP in 2012. Varanasi saw an electrifying campaign in the run-up for the last phase of Lok Sabha polls.  

Karakat: Bhojpuri singer and actor Pawan Singh, who had declined a BJP ticket for the Asansol seat in West Bengal, is contesting as an indepdent candidate from the Karakat Lok Sabha seat. Under NDA seat-sharing arrangements, Karakat is the only seat allotted to the Rashtriya Lok Morcha (RLM). Its national president and former Union Minister Upendra Kushwaha is in fray from the Karakat segment.


Mandi: From Mandi Lok Sabha seat of Himachal Pradesh, the Congress has fielded son of former CM and minister in state government Vikramaditya Singh, while the BJP has placed its bets on Kangana Ranaut. Vikramaditya's mother Pratibha Singh is the sitting MP from Mandi.

Hamirpur: Union Minister Anurag Singh Thakur is contesting as the Bharatiya Janata Party candidate, while Congress has fielded Satpal Raizada. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Anurag Thakur secured victory with a margin of around 4 lakh votes.


Basirhat: The BJP has fielded Rekha Patra from West Bengal's Basirhat Lok Sabha seat. Nushrat Jahan won the Basirhat seat in 2019 Lok Sabha polls for Trinamool Congress, however, this time the TMC has fielded veteran Haji Nurul Islam. Rekha Patra, before being fielded by BJP, was at the forefront of the series of agitation by women in Sandeshkhali in February and March against TMC strongman Shahjahan Sheikh.

Diamond Harbour: Many heavyweights are in fray as 9 seats go to polls in Bengal including Trinamool Congress general secretary Abhishek Banerjee, Sougata Roy and former Union minister Debasree Chaudhuri of the BJP. TMC has fielded Abhishek Banerjee from the Diamond Harbour seat, while CPIM's Pratikur Rahaman, and BJP's Abhijit Das from BJP are also in fray from the Bengal seat. 


Gorakhpur: Its actor versus actor in Uttar Pradesh's Gorakhpur as BJP has fielded sitting MP Ravi Kishan, while the INDI alliance has fielded Bhojpuri actress Kajal Nishad. Kajal is contesting on Samajwadi Party's symbol. BSP candidate Javed Simnani is also contesting in the elections but it is unlikely to make any difference to the outcome. 



Published June 1st, 2024 at 09:16 IST