Bollywood News

National Awards 2019: Ayushmann Khurrana's AndhaDhun Is Best Film, Sanjay Leela Bhansali, KGF Among Winners

Written By Joel Kurian | Mumbai | Published:


  • Ayushmann Khurrana's both films 'AndhaDhun' and 'Badhaai Ho' won awards, while he was adjudged Best Actor.
  • Vicky Kaushal shared the Best Actor award with him while 'Uri: The Surgical Strike' won multiple awards including Best Director Aditya Dhar
  • Keerthy Suresh won Best Actress for Mahanati

‘AndhaDhun’ was adjudged the Best Hindi Film at the announcement of the National Awards held in New Delhi on Friday. The film, starring Ayushmann Khurrana and directed by Sriram Raghavan, is a suspense thriller that was among the most critically acclaimed films of last year. Ayushmann also won the Best Actor for the movie. He shared the award with Vicky Kaushal for 'Uri: The Surgical Strike.'

READ: National Awards 2019: Kangana Ranaut's Sister Rangoli Takes Jibe At 'paan Elaichi Award Shows'

There was more in store for Ayushmann as 'Badhaai Ho' won The Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment award.

Keerthy Suresh won the Best Actress Award for 'Mahanati'.The movie also won the Best Telugu film Award.

Surekha Sikri for 'Badhaai Ho' was honoured with Best Supporting Actor-Female while Swanand Kirkire won the Best Supporting Actor-Male for Marathi film 'Chumbak.'

Gujarati film 'Hellaro' won the Award for the Best Feature Film.

READ: National Film Awards 2019: Ayushmann Khurrana Reacts To His Double Delight, Says He's 'thrilled'

'Uri: The Surgical Strike's Aditya Dhar won the Best Director Award. The Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film/Director went to Sudhakar Reddy Yakkanti's Marathi film 'Naal.'

Akshay Kumar's 'Padman' was adjudged the Best Film on Social Issues. 

Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration was given to Kannada film 'Ondalla Eradalla.'

Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s ‘Padmaavat’ won the Best Choreography Award for 'Ghoomar' and SLB won for Best Music Director too. Arijit Singh won the Best Male Playback Singer for 'Padmaavat' song 'Binte Dil' as well. The Best Female Playback Singer winner was Bindhumalini for Kannada movie 'Nathicharami' song 'Maayavi Manave.'

Kannada hit ‘KGF’ starring Yash was among the winners, bagging the Best Action Award and Best Special Effects.

‘Sudani from Nigeria’ was declared the Best Malayalam film. ‘ ‘Baaram’  won the award for the Best Tamil Film. 

READ: While Writer Apurva Asrani Asks, 'Are Canadian Citizens Eligible For India's National Awards?', Director Priyadarshan Defends Akshay Kumar Who Headed The Jury In 2017

Here's the full list:

Best Actor: Ayushmann Khurrana-AndhaDhun and Vicky Kaushal-Uri: The Surgical Strike 

Best Actress: Keerthy Suresh-Mahanati (Telugu) 

Best Supporting Actress: Surekha Sikri-Badhaai Ho

Best Supporting Actor: Swanand Kirkire-Chumbak 

Best Child Actor:  PV Rohit-Ondalla Eradalla (Kannada), Sameep Singh-Harjeeta (Punjabi), Talha Arshad Reshi- Hamid(Urdu) and Shrinivas Pokale Naal(Marathi) 

Special Mention: Sruthi Hariharan, Chandrachud Rai, Josy Joseph, Savitri


Best Feature Film: Hellaro (Gujarati) 

Best Hindi Film: AndhaDhun 

Best Tamil Film: Baaram 

Best Telugu Film: Mahanati 

Best Malayalam Film: Sudani from Nigeria 

Best Kannada Film: Nathicharami 

Best Bengali Film: Ek Je Chhilo Raja 

Best Punjabi Film: Harjeeta 

Best Gujarati Film: Reva 

Best Rajasthani Film: Turtle 

Best Urdu Film: Hamid 

Best Konkani Film: Amori 

Best Assamese Film: Bulbul Can Sing 

Best Pangchenpa Film: In The Land Of Poisonous Women 

Best Sherdukpan Film: Mishing 

Best Garo Film: Anna 

Best Film on National Integration: Ondanya Eradalu

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Badhaai Ho

Best Film on Social Issues: Pad Man


Best Director: Aditya Dhar-Uri: The Surgical Strike 

Best Debut Film/Director: Sudhakar Reddy Yakkanti- Naal (Marathi)  


Best Music Director: Sanjay Leela Bhansali-Padmaavat 

Best Male Playback Singer: Arijit Singh-Binte Dil-Padmaavat 

Best Female Playback Singer: Bindhumalini- Maayavi Manave -Nathicharami

Best Lyrics: Manjutha-Nathicharami (Kannada)  

Best choreography: Padmaavat, Ghoomar 

Best special effects: Awe, KGF 

Best background music award: Uri: The Surgical Strike 

Best Makeup Artist: Ranjith-Awe 

Best costume designer: Rajshree Patnaik, Varun Shah and Archana Rao-Mahanati

Best Action: KGF 

Best Production Design: Kammara Sambhavam 

Best Editing: Nathicharami 

Best Location Sound: Tendlya 

Best Sound Design: Uri 

Best Mixed Track: Rangasthalam 

Best Original Screenplay: Chi Arjun La Sow 

Best Adapted Screenplay: AndhaDhun 

Best Dialogue: Tarikh 

Best Cinematography: Ulu 

Best Children’s Film: Sarkari. Hi. Pra. Shale Kasaragodu, Koduge 

Best Film on Environment Conservation: Paani 

Jury Awards: Kedara (Bengali), Helaru


Non-Feature category:  

Special Mention Award: Mahaan Hutatma (director Sagar Puranik) 

Best Narration: Madhubani: The Station Of Colour 

Best Music : Kedar Divekar-Jyoti

Best Editing: Hemanti Sarkar-Son Rise

Best Audiography: Biswadeep Chatterjee-Children Of Soil

Best Location and Sound :Ajay Bedi-The Secret Life of Frogs

Best Cinematography: Ajay Bedi and Vijay Bedi-The Secret Life of Frogs

Best Director: Gautam Vaze-Aai Shapat 

Best Film on Family Values: Chalo Jeetey Hai 

Best Short Film: Kasab 

Social Justice: Why Me, Ekan 

Best Investigation Film: Amoli 

Best Sports Film: Swimming Through The Darkness 

Best Educational Film: Sarlabh Viral 

Best Film on Social Issue: Taala Te Kunjee 

Best Environmental Film: The World's Most Famous Tiger 

Best Promotional Film: Rediscovering Jalam 

Best Film on Science and Technology: GD Naidu: The Edison of India 

Best Arts and Cultural Film: Bunkar: the Last Of The Varanasi Weavers 

Best Debut Film of a Director: Feluda: 50 Years Ray's Detective 

Best Non-Feature Film: Son Rise, The Secret Life of Frogs 


Most film-friendly state: Uttarakhand 

Best book on cinema: Malayalam Book Mano Prarthana Pulley; In A Cult Of Their Own gets Special Mention 

Best Film Critic: Blase Johnny (Malayalam), Ananth Vijay (Hindi) 


The announcements to the 66th edition of the National Awards was made by Jury head Rahul Rawail, Non feature film jury head AS Kanal, Jury head for the best writing Utpal Bhojpuari at the Shastri Bhawan. 

READ: "If I Or My Film Manikarnika Doesn’t Win At National Awards, Then It Will Question The Credibility Of That Award Ceremony," Says Kangana Ranaut



Get the latest entertainment news from India & around the world. Now follow your favourite television celebs and telly updates. Republic World is your one-stop destination for trending Bollywood news. Tune in today to stay updated with all the latest news and headlines from the world of entertainment.