Great News For Fans Of Ryan Gosling's 'The Notebook' As It Takes The Broadway Route, Details Inside

Hollywood News

Fans of 'The Notebook' have a reason to cheer as the 2004 film starring Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams is jumping from the big screen to the stage in a Broadway musical. Based on the novel written by Nicholas Sparks, the popular film will soon become a musical being produced by Kevin McCollum and Kurt Deutsch in association with Sparks.

Written By Asia News International | Mumbai | Updated On:

Fans of 'The Notebook' have a reason to cheer as the 2004 film starring Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams is jumping from the big screen to the stage in a Broadway musical.
Based on the novel written by Nicholas Sparks, the popular film will soon become a musical being produced by Kevin McCollum and Kurt Deutsch in association with Sparks, reported Variety.

Apart from Gosling and Rachel, James Garner and Gena Rowlands too featured in the successful 2004 film adaptation and was directed by Nick Cassavetes. 'The Notebook' was Sparks' first published novel and went on to become the New York Times bestseller in its first week of publication in 1996. The story opened with Garner's character reading from his notebook to Rowlands' character, who was suffering from Alzheimer's disease, about the 1940 romance between a poor worker and a 17-year-old heiress, played by Gosling and McAdams respectively.

Read | Happy Birthday Ryan Gosling: Five Films Of The Actor That Won Hearts Of The Viewers

Bekah Brunstetter and Ingrid Michaelson are developing the musical adaptation of the popular book-turned-film. In an interview, Brunstetter opened up about how she was instantly drawn to the idea of the film being converted into a musical. "When I first heard about 'The Notebook' potentially being turned into a musical, I was instantly drawn to the idea. The story hits home for me in two big ways: it takes place in my home state of North Carolina, and Alzheimer's runs deep in my family," Brunstetter said.

Singer-songwriter Michaelson's has the popular singles 'Girls Chase Boys' and 'The Way I Am'. under her belt and has released seven albums since 2005. Talking about the musical adaptation Michaelson said that when she was approached about working on 'The Notebook,' she had to excuse me and go to the bathroom and cry and come back into the meeting.

"I have loved the movie and the story for so many years now that the idea of turning it into a musical overwhelmed me," she expressed, adding, "I actually started writing that very night of the first meeting, before I even had the job!  I cannot wait for the world to hear these characters come to life in a musical way."

Speaking about the Broadway production, Sparks who is the author of the novel said, "I am thrilled to work with Bekah and Ingrid in order to make 'The Notebook' a reality on Broadway. They are amazingly talented, and obviously, the story is near and dear to my heart." McCollum has received the Tony Award for best musical for 'In the Heights', 'Avenue Q' and 'Rent', which also won the Pulitzer Prize. 

 

 

Get the latest entertainment news from India & around the world. Now follow your favourite television celebs and telly updates. Republic World is your one-stop destination for trending Bollywood news. Tune in today to stay updated with all the latest news and headlines from the world of entertainment.

Published:
By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water
SAVE WATER NOW
PEOPLE HAVE PLEDGED SO FAR
DO NOT MISS