Dharmendra Pradhan Says, 'BJP To Form Govts In Haryana, Maharashtra'


Union Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas Dharmendra Pradhan on Monday said the BJP will retain power and form the governments in Haryana and Maharashtra

Written By Jay Pandya | Mumbai | Updated On:

Union Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas Dharmendra Pradhan on Monday, October 21 in New Delhi, said the BJP will retain power and form the governments in Haryana and Maharashtra. "BJP is going to form the governments in both Haryana and Maharashtra. We are confident that people will continue to support Prime Minister Narendra Modi, his philosophy and his policies," he told reporters on the sidelines of an event. 

Khattar rides a cycle to cast his vote

Khattar had reached the polling booth in Karnal to cast his vote on a bicycle in order to promote an eco-friendly mode of transport. The incumbent Chief Minister is seeking a second term from Haryana's Karnal Assembly. Moreover, Khattar claimed that the Congress party and other Opposition parties are fighting a 'lost battle.' He also said that the Congress party has no stance on national issues. He further urged the people of Haryana to exercise their social, political and democratic rights of voting. 

8,98,39,600 people eligible to vote

Polling is underway in Maharashtra and Haryana. In Maharashtra, the BJP-Shiv Sena Alliance are pitted against the Congress-NCP alliance. A total of 8,98,39,600 people, including 4,28,43,635 women are eligible to vote. The Polling will be held from 7 am to 6 pm with tight security arrangements in both the States. The counting will be held on October 24 for both the states. In Maharastra, during the last assembly elections, the state saw a 64% voter turnout, while Haryana set a new state record with 76.54% voter turnout.

READ | JJP leader Dushyant Chautala arrives at polling station on a tractor

Three lakh police personnel and Central forces have been deployed in Maharashtra while over 75,000 security personnel have been deployed in Haryana. Bypolls will also be held to 51 assembly seats and two Lok Sabha constituencies across 18 states. 

READ | Elections 2019 LIVE: 37% Haryana turnout, 30.7% in Maharashtra at 2pm

CM's in both states contest for a second term

In Maharastra, the BJP is seeking a second term under Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis. The Shiv Sena is contesting from 126 seats and BJP is contesting from 164 seats. For the Haryana Assembly elections, Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar has reportedly set a target of 75 out of 90 assembly seats. Last time, the BJP won 48 seats enjoying a comfortable majority, while the Congress won 17 seats.

READ | Sena's Uddhav & Aaditya Thackeray vote for 'bright' Maharashtra future

READ | Virat Kohli a 'lion baiting prey' & more as BCCI crowd-sources humour

(With ANI inputs)

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water