EXCITING CONTEST: BJP's Ravi Shankar Prasad Likely To Run Against 'Congress Candidate' Shatrughan Sinha From Bihar's Patna Saheb Lok Sabha Seat

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:


  • Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad is likely to replace rebel BJP leader Shatrughan Sinha to contest from Patna Saheb parliamentary constituency in Bihar
  • Actor-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha has been critical of the party’s top leadership on several occasions in the past

Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad is likely to contest the 2019 Lok Sabha polls from Patna Saheb parliamentary constituency in Bihar against Shatrughan Sinha, who may contest on Congress ticket, sources told Republic TV. Shatrughan Sinha is a sitting MP from the Patna Saheb constituency. 

While Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad may to contested from Patna Saheb Lok Sabha seat, MoS R K Singh is likely to contest from Ara parliamentary constituency, sources added. 

The decision to contest Ravi Shankar Prasad from the crucial Bihar seat was taken by the BJP's senior leadership at a meeting held at party's headquarters in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party chief Amit Shah, to shortlist candidates for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Sinha, who was a Union minister in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee cabinet, has been at odds with the party leadership after the 2015 Bihar assembly polls. Shatrughan Sinha, who won elections in 2014 on BJP ticket, had a fallout with the party leadership after he was left out of the cabinet. He has been critical of the party leadership on several occasions, which was likely the reason party decided to run the Union Minister against him. 

As per sources, Sinha is likely to contest from Patna Saheb in 2019 polls on Congress ticket. 

READ: National Approval Ratings: NDA Likely Sweep Away Most Seats In Bihar, UPA Projected To Stare At Huge Defeat

In January 2019, the rebel BJP leader attended the mega ‘United India’, 'anti-BJP' rally organised by TMC chief Mamata Banerjee in Kolkata along with other leaders of the Opposition party including RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav. He has been quite appreciative of Congress president Rahul Gandhi and was also seen in the company of RJD supremo Lalu Prasad and his son Tejashwi Yadav.

BJP is expected to release the first list of Lok Sabha candidates on Wednesday.

Meanwhile, Bihar will go into polls in all seven phases in 2019 General Elections. The dates of polling in Bihar will be on April 11, 18, 23, 29 and May 6, 12 and 19. The counting of the votes will take place on May 23 and the results will be announced on the same day.


READ: Rebel BJP MP Shatrughan Sinha To Contest From Patna Sahib Lok Sabha Seat On Congress Ticket: Sources

(With agency inputs)