Here's How Many Seats The BJP Is Targeting In The Jharkhand Elections


With the Jharkhand Assembly Election date being announced, state BJP leader Om Mathur expressed his confidence that the party will win a large number of seats

Written By Misha Bhatt | Mumbai | Updated On:

The Election Commission of India on Friday announced the dates for the upcoming Jharkhand Assembly elections which will be held in five phases. Reacting to the announcement of the poll dates, Jharkhand’s BJP in-charge, Om Mathur said that the BJP has been preparing for the polls for the past one year. 

While speaking to ANI, Om Mathur said, “BJP state unit has been preparing for the elections from past one year. I, myself, have analyzed all the booth level activities and preparations as well.” 

READ | Thief or dacoit, have faith in whoever party fields: Jharkhand BJP MP

The Jharkhand BJP leader also stated that he is confident of the BJP winning more than 65 seats out of the 81 seats of the Jharkhand assembly. 

Jharkhand Assembly Elections 

Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil Arora on Friday stated that the Assembly elections in Jharkhand will be held in five phases, where the first phase will be held on November 30 and the last and final phase of the voting will be held on December 20. The counting of the votes for the state will be held on December 23.

READ | Jharkhand Assembly Election dates out: Voting & Results schedule here

Here is the full schedule for Jharkhand assembly elections:

  • Phase 1: 30th November 2019 
  • Phase 2: 7th December 2019
  • Phase 3: 12th December 2019
  • Phase 4: 16th December 2019 
  • Phase 5: 20th December 2019
  • Date of counting: 23rd December 

READ | Jharkhand election dates out; here's a recap of what happened in 2014

Third BJP-ruled state to head to polls in  2019

Post the assembly elections in Maharashtra and Haryana, Jharkhand will be the third BJP ruled state to vote in 2019. The BJP currently rules the state in an alliance with the All Jharkhand Students' Union (AJSU). In Jharkhand, the BJP is led by Chief Minister Raghubar Das. The BJP rose to power in the state after winning 35 seats in the 81-member Jharkhand Assembly in 2015. Its ally, the AJSU, won 17, taking the NDA past the majority mark. While BJP's performance improved in the state, the Congress party had to do with just six seats. The party also swept the state in Lok Sabha polls, winning 12 of 14 parliamentary seats.

READ | Jharkhand CM: Indian's Test series win is a Diwali gift for the nation

READ | Jharkhand: 5 opposition MLAs join BJP ahead of assembly polls in Dec

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water