Lok Sabha Polls 2019: 'I Believe That In Telangana There Will Be A 17-0 Result', Says Asaduddin Owaisi As He Welcomes Declaration Of Polls On The Same Day As Andhra Pradesh


The Election Commission announced the schedule for the Lok Sabha polls at 5 pm on Sunday, setting in motion the biggest democratic exercise in the world involving nearly 90 crore voters.

Written By Radhika Sarkar | Mumbai | Updated On:

The Election Commission on Sunday announced the schedule for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, setting in motion the biggest democratic exercise in the world involving nearly 90 crore voters. The elections will be held for 543 seats of the Lok Sabha at approximately 10 lakh polling booths. On April 11, during the Phase 1 of the Lok Sabha polls, the EC announced that elections will be held on the same day for both Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. 

Responding to the decision made by the Election Commission, AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi said, 'It is a very good step taken by them, and I believe in Telangana there will be a 17-0 result, with all 17 seats won by Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS)'. 

'In Andhra Pradesh, my friend, Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy will get 20-21 parliament seats and this will be good for both the states. We want to make Telangana win, and I am telling you that there will be a result of 17-0 as K. Chandrashekar Rao, (Chief Minister of Telangana)  is doing a lot for the state, and they will continue to do so'.

READ: Lok Sabha Polls 2019: BJP Chief Amit Shah Welcomes Declaration Of 7-phase Polls, Calls Upon People To Turnout In Record Numbers To Vote

Here are the dates for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls:

  • The election is going to take place in seven phases instead of 9 as compared to 2014 elections.
  • 1st phase polling to be held on 11th April, 
  • 2nd phase on 18th April, 
  • 3rd phase on 23rd April, 
  • 4th phase on 29th April, 
  • 5th phase on 6th May, 
  • 6th phase on 12th May, 
  • 7th phase on 19th May.

READ: Omar Abdullah Criticises ECI's Decision To Not Conduct J&K State Elections Along With Lok Sabha Polls; Hits Out At BJP Leadership

Meanwhile, as the countdown to General Elections 2019 has officially begun, Prime Minister Narendra Modi also took to Twitter to extend a congratulatory message to the Election Commission and to the voters of the nation who are going to elect its new government. In a series of tweets, PM Modi urged the Indians to enrich the Lok Sabha election with their active participation, adding that the festival of democracy - elections - are here.

Here's what the Prime Minister wrote.


By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water