Maharashtra Elections: 14 Seats To Contest With BJP's Lotus Symbol


As many as 14 seats from the BJP and Shiv Sena alliance have been issued to smaller parties who will be contesting elections under the BJP's lotus symbol

Written By Pritesh Kamath | Mumbai | Updated On:

Tickets for as many as 14 seats from the BJP have been given to the candidates of smaller party allies who will be contesting polls under the BJP's lotus symbol in the upcoming Maharashtra assembly elections. BJP will be contesting polls on 164 seats including the 14 seats of smaller allies with Shiv Sena going to polls with 124 seats.

"14 seats which were given to our allies Republican Party of India (Athawale), Raiyyat Kranti of Sadabhau Khot, Shiv Sangram and Rashtriya Samaj Paksha, the candidates on those seats are also contesting on BJP's lotus symbol," BJP spokesperson Shweta Shalini told ANI.

READ | Maharashtra: Bhagat Singh's grandnephew campaigns for rebel BJP MLA

Devendra Fadnavis contests from Nagpur

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis will fight elections from Nagpur South West constituency against former BJP turned Congress candidate Ashish Deshmukh. Girish Mahajan, a confidante of Fadnavis will go to polls from Jamner while Chandrakant Dada Patil, BJP Maharashtra Chief will contest the upcoming assembly polls from Kothrud constituency of Pune. BJP has fielded Haribhau Bagade the assembly speaker from Fulambari while Mumbai BJP chief Mangal Prabhat Lodha in Malabar Hill. Maharashtra cabinet Finance Minister Sudhir Mungantiwar has been fielded from Ballarpur, Santosh Danve, son of Union Minister Raosaheb Danve will contest from  Bhokardan constituency. Former Congress leader and currently the Minister of Housing in Maharashtra cabinet, Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil will contest from Shirdi, while Rohini Khadse-Khewalkar, the daughter of former minister and senior BJP leader Eknath Khadse will contest from Muktainagar constituency.

READ | Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis: 'Cong-NCP accepted their defeat'

Cong-NCP seat sharing

Congress-NCP alliance will be contesting in 123-125 seats respectively while leaving 41 seats for smaller allies in the upcoming assembly elections. Notably Maharashtra, the 288-seat Assembly State will go to polls on October 21 along with Haryana, announced the Election Commission on September 21. The Assembly elections will be held in a single-phase and the counting procedure will be conducted shortly after on October 24.

READ | Maharashtra CM: Rahul Gandhi not campaigning as he has accepted defeat

READ | Maharashtra CM Fadnavis assures PMC customers, says 'will speak to PM'

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water