Northeast Bypolls: BJP Wins 5, Others 3, Assam Cong Dissidence In Open


The BJP has managed to maintain its performance in the Northeast, particularly in Assam and Sikkim. The party won by winning 3 out of 4 seats in Assam

Written By Anirudha Bhakat | Mumbai | Updated On:

The BJP has managed to maintain its performance in the Northeast, particularly in Assam and Sikkim. The party won by winning three out of four seats in Assam and two out of three seats in Sikkim. In Meghalaya, a constituent of Northeast Democratic Alliance UDP won the lone seat, whereas, in Arunachal Pradesh, slain NPP leader Tirong Aboh's wife Chakat Aboh won the by-polls. The BJP's surge in Assam and Sikkim has once again put to rest all speculations over the Citizenship Amendment Bill, which some believe to be a deterrent for the ruling party in the Northeast. 

In Assam, except Jania, which was earlier a stronghold of the Congress party, BJP won in all three constituencies with a huge margin vis-a-vis Ratabari, Rangapara and Sonari. Reacting to the victory in Assam, BJP State president termed it as a victory of the people. In a press statement, Ranjit Dass, State BJP president said,

"The increase in a number of vote percentage in all the four constituencies have proved that BJPs Sabka Sath Sabka Vikas have reached each and every people at the grassroots level." 

READ: PM Modi: BJP-Sena gave stable Govt, Maharashtra supported 'Maha-Yuti'

READ: Maharashtra Polls: 7 BJP ministers who suffered shocking defeats

A friendly contest 

It may be mentioned that in Meghalaya, it was more a friendly contest between the NEDA constituents, BJP and UDP, as NPP opted not to contest the elections, giving a walkover to the UDP as a mark of respect to departed UDP Chief Donkupar Roy. 

As far as the election scenario in Arunachal Pradesh is concerned, sympathy vote played a major role in Chatak Aboh's victory, whose husband, NPP leader Tirong Aboh, was killed by terrorists before the State Assembly elections held consecutively with the Lok Sabha elections. The by-polls in Assam were a high voltage affair, compared to other states. Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, BJP state President Ranjit Dass, NEDA Convenor Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma, Union Minister of State Rameshwar Teli, MPs Kamakhya Prasad Tasa, Tapan Kumar Gogoi campaigning for the BJP, whereas veteran Congress leader and former Chief Minister of Assam Tarun Gogoi, APCC president Ripun Bora campaigned aggressively for the Congress. 

However, the election results in Assam have once again sowed the seeds of dissidence against APCC president Ripun Bora, as a host of Congress leaders are unhappy with the State leadership. Sources close to former Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi have informed Republic TV, that the former Chief Minister himself is not happy with the functioning of the party in the state and is likely to seek a change of guard in front of the Congress high command.

READ: Haryana Elections: PM Modi confirms 3% increase in BJP vote share

READ: J&K BDC polls: Independent candidates win 217 seats, BJP bags 81

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water